questions about the earthquake in china


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
May 16th 2008
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So yesterday I went to work at the PO. I hadn't been there since the earthquake happened in China. Seriously, all morning people were asking if I was still planning to go, if flights were cancelled, if it was going to affect the Olympics, if I knew anyone in the quake , etc. Some more informed collegues were comparing the Burma hurricaine and the China earthquake ... and by "some" I mean one.

Last night an old friend from my childhood, D.J., called to ask my mom if I was still in China and if I was in the earthquake.

I tried explaining to them that it wasn't near Beijing or the Olympics and that my flights won't be changed or delayed. That it would be like an earthquake in the midwest stopping my flights to New York. And that I would be just fine, that the epicenter was a long way from the capital. And some of the closer coworkers finally asked me, halfway through the morning, if I was getting tired of people asking.

And I said no, that it was nice that people cared.

I think she thought I meant it was nice that people cared about my well being. And it is. I get along with pretty much everyone in the PO, and I like subbing there. And I know they care.

What I meant, though, is that I'm glad people are watching the news and have a face to put with the news. That they recognize that the quake isn't just "over there" and "not here" but that it might affect one of their own. They watch TV and see crying mothers and millions of people with facemasks and black hair amid rubble, and it looks like -- well, like "over there". It's hard to get past that.

But now when I see news about Mexico, I immediately think of Arielle and Cassi, for instance. Afghanistan, Elliott. Etc. The war in Afghanistan is personal, by association. Mexico news is pertinent, by association. New Orleans, Philadelphia, San Diego, DC, New Zealand, Brazil, etc.

So if I can go to China, and write back and keep people informed about my life, via "educating the communists of tomorrow" emails or via a blog, if they can put a face with China, if they can care, even by association, then no, I won't get tired of people asking about China, or the earthquake.

Most Americans know nothing about China, but I can help change that through my writing and photos. And writing and taking my phtotos gives me a purpose beyond just travelling for my own edification. Travelling for travelling's sake is all well and good, but I feel the need to inspire others.

Because, hell, if I can get out of this town and make it all the way to China, anyone can.

And now I'm rambling...







Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb