Shanghai, dry run


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 2nd 2013
Published: July 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, I nipped from Suzhou to Shanghai on the train - a dry run for Thursday.



Over the last 5 years, the station at Suzhou has changed beyond all recognition, in fact, an entirely new one has been built. It's gone through many changes and this, I think is almost it. I think it's finished. Man, the train systems in China are second to none. The new building is huge, gleaming marble floors where once there were regular tiles, automated gates where there were cattle like metal railings with pushing and shoving and rushing of great numbers of people. It's clean, safe, efficient and luxurious. And that's only the station in Suzhou. On the platform, it is also orderly, the train stops so that the doors to the carriages stop exactly at the related number on the platform. No moving up and down looking for the right carriage.

The train itself is quite astounding travelling from Suzhou to Shanghai in 35 minutes with 2 stops in between and covering 150 kms. You do the maths - it flies. There are neat rows of cushioned seats in air conditioned carriages with loads of leg room, service hostesses that
my wriggling wu guimy wriggling wu guimy wriggling wu gui

the first time it has moved in 7 days.
look like air hostesses with tiny hats and neat uniforms and tiny microphones. I really don't want to ever get out. I'm thinking I could live here, on this train and just travel back to the UK. Don't make me leave.

China train systems 1 - UK a big fat 0!



Shanghai station is still the same as ever. Over crowded, unautomated, pushing, shoving, spitting and no escalators -this you notice if you have a back pack, suitcase and laptop. It is a great distance from getting off the train to getting out of the station and then there is the heat and the pushing and the queues for taxis



I love it though. Shanghai is a real gem. I booked into the Astor for Thursday until I leave and it was too hot to do anything - being 35 degrees, so I nipped to M's for lunch.



On waiting in Shanghai station to go back to Suzhou, I sit and read. I'm the only fair haired person in thousands. I find a seat and settle, get my book out and ignore my surroundings. I'm nudged from my reading by
M. on the Bund. M. on the Bund. M. on the Bund.

I love this view from the terrace and always look up to see this. :)
a young girl of about 7 years old begging. Mostly, I give to anyone busking, or working hard. I hand over a hundred plastic bottles and cans from the hostel to the bottle collectors in Suzhou, every day, I give to the erhu player, I give to the blind girl singing in Ping Jiang Lu, the the blind man with one leg on the subway in Shanghai, to the old man sleeping in the street, I buy tortoises, feed stray cats and generally give to anyone who really needs it but i won't condone this. child begging in the stations IS NOT A JOB OR A CAREER. I used to give to these kids. I've seen them with smashed hands, missing limbs and alone but now I don't because I've learned how it works and I feel that if we give to these kids, it perpetuates this lifestyle and make it into a job. It isn't. There are different ways for them. And they do have parents who circle round.



She pushes into my space, knocks me with her knee and grunts. Because I am sitting down, we are eye to eye and I say in perfect Mandarin, plain as day, clear as crystal, I will not give you any money. She grunts again, her sticky hand nudging my sweaty arm, her dark brown eyes staring straight into mine and I won't be intimidated even though we are now becoming a scene. I don't budge an inch. I repeat myself and sit steadfast, sprung like a cat waiting for anything that she may throw at me. I prepare for the worst, but she only glares and I glare back, she grunts again in defeat and moves on.



I return to my reading and still disagree with child beggars in the station.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

I get it nowI get it now
I get it now

red, too late, it's going Green - go get on your train - you have about 5 mins Yellow - queue at the barriers for you train. Mine's yellow.
Jie Jie rinsing off the dirt and the wormsJie Jie rinsing off the dirt and the worms
Jie Jie rinsing off the dirt and the worms

the wu gui has abrasions to its shell and things have burrowed inside. Jie Jie is used to this, I stand by watching
hmmmhmmm
hmmm

I think she knows what she is doing but she also uses this cream on the cats!
my cat from 5 years agomy cat from 5 years ago
my cat from 5 years ago

all crusty matted and bruised and scabby. Jie Jie still feeds him every day.
the tiny ally from the lane to my housethe tiny ally from the lane to my house
the tiny ally from the lane to my house

I've moved back into the old hutong lanes behind the Skin market
Shi Jie XiangShi Jie Xiang
Shi Jie Xiang

the lane where I live. It rarely looks like this - it's a rare quiet moment
Shaolin MasterShaolin Master
Shaolin Master

this man does Tai Qi every morning under the bride in the South East of Suzhou. He moves with grace and beauty. I've known him since 2009
Serious stuffSerious stuff
Serious stuff

5.30am - 7.30am every day. this is the lady master. her hair is beautifully styled and she moves like a dream. and she is about 55years old and Man, she looks good.
between 60 - 100 people everydaybetween 60 - 100 people everyday
between 60 - 100 people everyday

practice Tai Qi just in this space. It happens all over the city and all over the country. every day, without fail. I love it.
upwardly mobileupwardly mobile
upwardly mobile

borrowed wheels
my neighbourmy neighbour
my neighbour

he hates the cats. he says they ruin his roof. they didn't do this.


2nd July 2013

Enjoy!
Tracey thoroughly enjoying your blog from the highs to the lows. Blog on blog on!
2nd July 2013

blog
hey, James, I think I changed my goal. t
3rd July 2013

Intimidation
Good job -- don't condone the behavior.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb