The other side of the hole


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 8th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Onon BikeOnon BikeOnon Bike

Me and my ride.
Well, I have been living at the other end of the hole we dug as children for a few months shy of a year now. I am a teacher, or laoshi as my nickname denotes, at a Chinese International school in Shanghai. I wish I had found this website when I first arrived in August 2005, but alas I did not. I considered doing back journals, but I am too lazy at this point (and tired from writing exams) and looking forward to future adventures. I will say that during my time in China I have visited the following places, in chronological order: Guilin and Yangshuo, China; Hainan, China; Hong Kong; Bangkok, Koh Phi Phi, Koh Lanta, Koh Samui, Thailand; Siem Reap, Cambodia; Hangzhou, China; and Kunming, Dali, Lijiang, China. Not to mention traveling around the countryside outside of Shanghai.

It has been one heck of a year. If someone had told me a year ago that I would be doing all these things, seeing all these places and meeting so many interesting and sometimes wacko people, I probably wouldn't believe it.

So, now that I have found the greatness that is Travelblog, I look forward to keeping a journal of my travels here. While I am finishing up the school year through the rest of the month, I still have one more trip planned to Suzhou, China. After that maybe Tibet and Xinjiang, maybe not, we'll see what the travel gods lay before me. Either way, I am looking forward to my unknown future and the adventures that come with it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb