Shanghai, China at NIGHT


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 27th 2011
Published: June 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It is currently Tuesday, June 28th, 2011 and I am watching the Detroit fireworks on my computer! It's around 10:00am here in Shanghai so there is a 12 hour time zone difference between my home state and China. Anyways, I wanted to watch the fireworks online so that way I can get a little piece of home.

The last 2 days haven't been too bad but also not extremely busy because I've been here for a bit now so I am settling into the city. I also started orientation for my job yesterday and I am looking forward to it. It is Very theater based, meaning that the teaching aspect of my job is basically a 1 man Disney World performance. It's bright, loud, exciting, and extremely energetic. I personally feel like I may have a leg up on the job compared to my fellow employees because of my experience with music and drama but I know that they'll be great.

Shanghai has been such a wonderful experience and I am glad that I still have another week and a half here. There are so many things I still have to do. I love the culture here and I want to make sure that I take in as much of it as possible because it will be different than the culture in Suzhou where I will be teaching. But I will cover the culture of China in another blog.

Now the pictures you see here were taken last night as I made a special trip out by myself to capture the city at night. My hotel is not in the downtown area so I haven't been able to see the city lit up at night and it has also been very smoggy. So when the city is clear of smog you've got to get downtown and take as many shots as possible. I hope you like them!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1011s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb