Duolun Culture Street...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
March 28th 2010
Published: August 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Finally a day with myself! Don't get me wrong; i enjoyed the company of Lisa, Oryoon and Aaron but there are just some sights and some places that i want to go with me and myself. Duolun Culture Street is one of these places. I woke up later than usual as I've decided that I've had enough of the same free breakfast. i washed up and headed off towards the metro station. I bought myself a shoujuabing, 手抓饼, at a store next to the station. It's bacon & chez wrapped in a flaky pastry. yummy and only 6Y!

the walk to Duolun Street from the station took about 20minutes or so. Walking through Doulun Culture Street you would see bronze statues of the great writers and artists of old Shanghai. I know little about them and could only walk by and remind myself to search them up later. One of the writers' Lu Xun has a museum and a park named after him near by. And what do i know about Lu Xun? Nothing at that point of time really. When i told myself i wanted to visit Lu Xun park i thought i was going to visit the 3 Kingdom's Lu Xun the adviser's park. Okay i know I've probably lost you.. So anyway, back to Duolun Culture Street...

I read that there was a really nice cafe around Duolun Street called Old Films Cafe that is built in a old Shanghai theme and screen old movies so i was really look forward to it. I was certainly not disappointed when i saw the cafe! I walked in and looked around and my eyes were almost instantly fixed on this group at a table on the ground floor. It was 3 elderly men all dress in old Tang suits. I wished i had taken a picture of them because the sight of them sitting in that cafe with the deco and the ambience really brought if only for an instance to old Shanghai!

I took a seat on the 2nd floor infront of the TV that was screening Charlie Chaplin movies, ordered myself a tea break special consisting of a cuppa Joe and a slice of chez cake. Feeling the old Starbucks me rising as i drunk the coffee, i wrote this in my notebook: 'Brazilian Coffee - Fruity Aroma, Low Acidity, Medium-Heavy Body with Juicy Flavors! Paired with light & fluffy chezcake with plump raisins in it.' Because in Starbucks, every time we taste a coffee, we take notes on it and at the moment it just felt right to do so.

Leaving Duolun Street i headed towards the Lu Xun Museum. Once in the museum i realised that it was the writer Lu Xun not the advisor Lu Xun that was being commemorated here. I recognized only one work by writer Lu Xun, that is 'The True Story of Ah Q'. I have never read it but i have heard about it. So i headed to the book store in the museum and bought myself a copy of Lu Xun's 'Call to Arms' which has 'The True Story of Ah Q' in it. It has both the chinese version and the english version side by side and that makes reading it easier and I will also be able to appreciate the chinese literary work as well.

I headed back to the hostel, packed my bags and was ready to leave Shanghai for Hangzhou. Another girl checked into the room I was in at 6am. I stirred slightly from my sleep but quickly returned to my slumber. When I woke up (for good), my new room mate was unpacking her bag, getting ready to do some laundry. We exchanged some pleasantries and I made my way towards the train station as she headed out to explore Shanghai.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb