Anne Gugu (googoo? ;)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
March 17th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Here are pics from what I've been doing lately.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ZhouzhuangZhouzhuang
Zhouzhuang

We took a group day trip to the near by water town of Zhouzhuang. Here, locals wait to give boat tours to us wai guo ren.
Roommates!Roommates!
Roommates!

Sarah, Amy, and me. We're all in the same chinese class with Guo Laoshi. Hmm...I agree with Sarah, I don't think we're very wenrou (gentle and soft...haha trying to work in the new vocab)
GrumbleGrumble
Grumble

Despite our disgruntled looking boat driver, Hannah and I had a good laugh posing as overeager asian tourists.
Ooh AhhOoh Ahh
Ooh Ahh

After the boat tour we took a break to watch an informal opera performance. It reminded me of those ribbon dancing days in chinese school...only not as clumsy and awkward.
Anne Gugu on the BundAnne Gugu on the Bund
Anne Gugu on the Bund

Aunt Anne, I promised you that pictures of us frolicking in Shanghai would be included in my blog. Above: the soon-to-be famous, American sociologist strikes a pose on the waterfront.
Par-tayPar-tay
Par-tay

My chinese tutor, my aunt, and me at dinner. Pssst, I'm secretly in love with my tutor. She so awesome, but don't tell her I told you. (awkward pause) I love you Houjue!
Losing Face...Losing Face...
Losing Face...

My relatives forced me to sing a chinese song for them...so I took my Aunt down with me. Of course, the most logical thing to do with such a picture is post it on the internet (obviously!)
Ladies FirstLadies First
Ladies First

My girls only picture at the party. Ok, let's see if I can do this...1st row: my chinese tutor, me, Anne Gugu, Lijuan Ayi, my yougest cousin, Fangfang Ayi 2nd row (L>R): Da Jiu Ma, my eldest cousin, San jiu ma, my cousin Jiawei, and my xiao jiu ma.
Da JiaDa Jia
Da Jia

Christ, I'm just gonna take a short cut and say EVERYONE. Haha, this was a fun one to take.


18th March 2006

your tutor
your tutor looks super fun! i miss you lots. looks like you're having a blast. bye babe!
21st March 2006

That's ALL?????
Hi, Jeanettie - I LOVE what you have to say and thanks for choosing the MOST embarrassing pictures!!!! I've been practicing my Chinese phrases since being home - even have Aunt Linda's mother saying "Ni hao" when saying hello!!! Miss you much! Had much fun! Anne Gugu

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb