The Trip Begins with the Longest Day of My Life


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

It all started with goodbye to my mother at the airport. She and her husband were kind enough to let me move back home for a week before leaving for China. I had a great time being a mid-twenty's semi-adult crashing at my parents house, and the best part was they didn't even impose a curfew! As I got on the plane to take the 11 hour flight to Tokyo followed by a 3 hour flight to Shanghai, my common sense told me to sleep in the beginning of the trip to try to acclimate myself to China's timezone. However, as most of you know I took the bar about a month ago and that entailed me missing most of the Hollywood garbage that had been playing in the theaters. So when I got on the plane and saw they had every movie I had not seen on demand right in front of me... I decided sleep can wait. 7 movies and 19 hours later I was in Shanghai and realized I had not slept in 24 hours.

My wonderful brother was kind enough to book me a room at a five star hotel for really cheap, so I thought I would go and get a good night sleep. However, it being a Saturday night in Shanghai and me being me, I again waived the right to common sense and thought I would go out to get a drink and meet some expats. So I headed off to a place called Bar Rouge, which is on the Bund (the Bund is the area in Shanghai right near the river and it was built by and for the British during colonial times. There is even a sign that is still up saying "No Chinese." Now that the British Colonists are gone, the Bund now serves there compatriots as well as many other foreigners in countless number of upscale bars, clubs, restaurants and hotels. I meet a group of Australians who convince me to head out with them to another bar for their friends birthday. I agree and long story short, one drink turned into me arriving back at the hotel at 7am completely exhausted although satisfied because I made some good friends during the night.

At this point, I had been up for about 33 hours and decided to call it quits and slept for the next day and a half until I had to catch my train to Hangzhou.


Advertisement



16th September 2009

Of course you did...
Of course you did... ha ha. Typical Josh Reynolds style. :)

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb