Teppanaki Night


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 9th 2009
Published: June 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I suppose before I begin writing about the extravagance of Teppanaki Night, I should expain what it is exactly. Teppanaki isn't Chinese, it's Japanese. There are thousands of Teppanaki restaurants all around the world and in Shanghai, China, people spend approximately 150RMB for an all-you-can-eat buffet. It's absolutely devine and I loved everything I ate.

ATTENDEES:
Riina (Finland)
Myself (Mich, USA)
Caitlin (England)
Anna (Barcelona, Spain)
Peter (Cali/NYC, USA)
Bosco (Peru)
Wei (North Carolina, USA - orginally from China)
Matt (Indi, (USA)
Logan (Cali, USA)
Jordan (Venezuela)

What did I eat? Almost everything.

- Scallops
- Shrimp (again, eyes and all)
- Sashimi (Salmon, Sea bass)
- Fish eggs and cucumber (Japanese style, not French)
- Lamb
- Fried noodles
- Fried bananas
- More beef and onions
- Veggies

And I saved the best for last...COW TONGUE! Surprisingly, it was pretty good. It tastes like beef, but the texture is a little weird.

What did I drink? Well...

- Water (had to ease into the all night eating process)
- OJ (with a spiral straw - I felt like I was six years old again. fantastic!)
- Tsing Dao (beer)
- A sip of
Dinner budiesDinner budiesDinner budies

Anna, Caitlin and Peter
warm white wine (not that great)
- HOT SAKE (roughly four or five shots.)

All in all, everything was delicious--even the cow tongue--and I was very complacent by the end of dinner. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Some sort of fish...it wasnSome sort of fish...it wasn
Some sort of fish...it wasn

That is its spine on the side...in case you were wondering.
Mystery MeatMystery Meat
Mystery Meat

Yeah...there's a lot of mystery meat in China. My advice...don't ask what it is...just eat it.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb