Martial Arts Class!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Xujiahui
May 20th 2009
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up late today for the first time, couldn't go to sleep until about 3am, but Chinese 1002 was canceled so I found enough time to eat and get stuff done after Diff Eq. The only eventful thing to speak for today is the Martial Arts class. We met the instructor and gathered in the lobby of one of the older classroom buildings. Yu Wang acted as the translator for the master, he said that we were learning the Shaolin form of Wushu that is supposedly more used for performances than fighting (vs. Kong Fu) according to two GT LBAT students who had learned some previously (Dan and Austin). We learned 3 types of hand forms - the fist (which has 6 faces), straight (which has like 3 ways to use), and the hook (looks like you're trying to pick something with all five fingers at once). The hook was very hard for my left hand cause my index finger curves away (from breaking it a while back) and I have to force it in, ha.

We learned 5-6 different feet positions a few combination that left me pretty tired (it's a great workout if you try positions accurately). The first time we tried the "Rest Position" it didn't feel relaxing at all - makes you cross your legs unnaturally and squat, but after a full set, it definitely seemed better in comparison. He showed us what we would learn in the next class, a semi-long series of what seemed to be an interesting and complicated combo, but maybe it's easy to break down. The smooth foot swipe and loud, but controlled foot slamming looked really cool. Hopefully I'll know the actual names of the moves next class.

After that I got contacts for Dan and Austin and another graduate student Camilo and then Lora, Professor Geronimo's daughter, who is just here for fun. We'll probably all head to the Shelter on Thursday. I hope there are some real bboys there (but not too good, so I don't get smoked, ha)

Advertisement



25th May 2009

Sounds like a workout! I'l have one son who can fence and another who can do martial arts, and another who can play WOW. Can't beat that . I suppose Steph will come back as a sumo wrestler, to round it out.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb