One Month In


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
August 3rd 2015
Published: August 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Summer CampSummer CampSummer Camp

Kids working hard at summer camp
Well, it's been a month now since I've come to China. It hasn't been an easy road. When I left for China I was ready to have an amazing time. When I got here things didn't come as easily as they have in the past. This trip so far has been filled many issues that I've had to overcome. There are days where it feels like I can't overcome them. But I'm not alone. God put some amazing people in my life over this past month. They have helped me through when I felt like giving in.



I'm now in my apartment. This is one of the things that has been so hard about this trip. I've had so many problems with the apartment. The air conditioner in the bedroom wasn't working so that delayed my move in. I moved in 3 days after I signed my lease because the air conditioner went out again after it was fixed. Then a pipe busted in my kitchen and flooded my kitchen and living room with water. The living room air conditioner is finally fixed, but I'm still waiting for the bedroom to be fixed. So for the moment I've moved my mattress into the living room to sleep.





On another note, we found 4 kittens thrown in with trash on Saturday. Now, I'm allergic to cats but I would never throw a kitten away. We couldn't leave them there. So now I am a mother to 4 kittens for the time being. Eventually, I will have 2 kittens and one cat. Hopefully everything will work out.





I'm on vacation the next 2 weeks. I have orientation after that and then work days. I'm praying that I do a good job. I'm so nervous about starting my job. I want to be the best teacher that I can. I know that these kids are depending on me to help them learn English. I know that what they learn now will determine how successful they will be in the future. Please pray for strength.





Well, I'm going to bed. My furniture is being delivered tomorrow and I should be getting my wifi as well. Good night world!!! I pray for peace and love to all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Summer CampSummer Camp
Summer Camp

Love when they read together!
Summer CampSummer Camp
Summer Camp

My hard working TA's! They did awesome!
Good FriendsGood Friends
Good Friends

Good friends and noodles! What could be better?
Teacher OutingTeacher Outing
Teacher Outing

Last night as a group before everyone leaves!
TA DinnerTA Dinner
TA Dinner

We couldn't have done anything without our wonderful TA's!
Night OutNight Out
Night Out

Hanging with my friends!
Shanghai MuseumShanghai Museum
Shanghai Museum

Doing what tourist do...


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb