Wild things I have seen thus far


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
June 23rd 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

So we have officially been here an entire week. And I feel compelled to communicate a list of the craziest things I have seen so far. Now, keep in mind that we live in an apartment complex in the Pudong area. I can walk to the park, the gym, the store, Kaelen's school, Starbucks, etc. It's busy but not downtown kinda busy. I have to assume that the laws here are quite different from home because everytime I turn around, BAM something that makes my jaw drop or makes me giggle. I am certain this list will grow as we continue our stay in this beautiful area, but I can't keep these to myself any longer...

1- Everyone rides scooters (Vespa-kinda things). No helmets, no worries about cars or pedestrians. As I am standing on the corner to cross with the kids, a man and his wife are riding along. I look closer and their baby (estimated at less than 2 years old) is standing between the mans legs. They go wizzing by. Wow!

2- Trash recepticles. Ok these are funny. There is a wonderful pond with a walking trail around it right across the street. The kids and I take a walk every day it's not raining. It has beautiful flowers and trees and it's so serene. But then I look at the trash bins. It's in 3 sections with Chinese letters and pictures for those of us who don't speak mandarin (yet!). The first picture is a trash can, so random trash - fine. The second picture is the recycle symbol - didn't know that's an international thing. Cool. The third picture is a dog pooping!!!! At least they want you to clean up after your animals! But does the dog really need to be pooping on the sign?

3- Grocery shopping. Let me just say that I am not adventurous when it comes to trying different foods. I know, I know and I moved the China - I am a work in progress! I wanted to get a few things for dinners this week, so I bravely venture out to the local market (which terrifies me!) to find some meat. Again, not fluent in Chinese or chinese symbols, hence the terrifying part. Here I go to the butcher area, looking for simply chicken breasts. Let's just say, I couldn't stay in the area long enough to find them. I may have scarred Kaelen for life. They have every part of the chicken, including the feet sitting out in the open. There is a butcher behind a counter in the open just hacking away at a bloody carcass. I grabbed pork steaks because it was the only thing I could recognize and ran. I am still afraid of the grocery store!!

4- Tai Chi - When we go on walks in the morning, there seem to be a lot of people out and about. Lots of people excercising, walking, etc. Random groups of people get together in the oddest places ( parks, street corners, walkways) and just do Tai Chi together. I have to admit it's pretty cool to watch, but it just walways seems so random!

5- The driving - I will never again complain about driving in Detroit. LB's favorite phrase now is "car beeping" because they use their horns more than anyone else anywhere! Since I can't drive here and am either a pedestrian or passenger with our driver, it's hilarious to watch. They weave in and out of each other, honking along the way. Being a road rage kinda Detroiter, I quite enjoy this one!!!! But it's wild to watch!!!

As I said, this list will surely expand over the next year, but I had to tell someone!!! It's all part of the adventure!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb