Chinese National Day holiday plan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
October 8th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

One of the biggest Chinese holidays, China National Day holiday has finished, resulting in neither travel nor rest.

I had 7 days holiday in total with the switched weekend by the government. I really hate the way that the government switched weekend and tried to make the holiday a very long one. Based on this year's situation, National Day falls on Friday, plus the other two days paid holidays and weekend, we should be off from 1 Oct to 5 Oct. However, the government made us to have 7 days off, while have to work on Saturdays and Sundays, which made our work useless as we deal with international market. Anyway, my daughter is have those 7 days holiday, so I have to take the same holidays.

1 Oct We had a big family lunch at one of the local restaurants in Xi'an serving Hubei cuisine. That is my grandpa's favorite. After lunch, we drove to grandpa's home, and it was raining, my plan to take my daughter to Xingqing Park ruined. Instead, I took my daughter to the supermarket. Later, she was not feeling well as she vomit everything she ate. So stay at home and do nothing for the rest of the day.

2 Oct Due to my daughter's illness, we stay at home the whole day, as she feels sleepy the the whole morning. I made some soup for her, but she does not have the appetite to eat anything. In the afternoon she felt much better, so I took her to attend the Piano class.

3 Oct This is also a day for family reunion with my in-laws. There are 3 little kids, among whom my daughter is the oldest, the youngest is only 2 and half. Three kids made the day so noisy. We played on the community square for the whole afternoon with bubbles...

4 Oct Today is the day to give my cousins a treat. It is actually a reunion we arranged every other month. Each one of our cousins will take turns to buy the meal. I found out a local Chinese restaurant serving food from south of the province. I also promised my daughter to take her to a bookstore. She always get excited with the bookstore with all different kinds of books, especially the books with special little gifts. She finally found out a book full of princesses. It is a color filling book that requires the kid to color the pictures either with their own imagination or according to the pictures attached with the book.

5 Oct Basically it is a day to rest. I did nothing but take my daughter to the little paid playground to spend the afternoon. She does not have the interest any more in there as she always changes her idea of different games she plays. She spent about one hour in the playground, half an hour fishing in the small pool, and another half an hour jumping in a air-stuffed castle. Anyway, she seemed to have a good time there.

6 Oct My parents need to use my car to attend my uncle's party, so my daughter and I got up very early in the morning, we drove to their home at about 10:30am, I cooked lunch with rice, my daughter was very hungry, and ate two bowls. After her nap, we went to the department store to buy my husband a pair of pants as his birthday gift. The reason that my daughter agreed to go with me is that there is a toy section in that department store. She said she only wanted to see those toys, but in the end, she wanted me to buy her one. I found it out that the toy she liked does not worth the money, I bought her an electronic tooth brush instead. She is happy and I am happy too.

7 Oct The holiday week has passed and I had to attend class for my master's degree. It is supposed to be a whole day class, but the teacher did not show up in the afternoon. So we wasted the noon on campus without knowing there is no teacher in the afternoon. I did not go to my parents home due to all those difficult homework. I was busy the whole afternoon till midnight.

Well, the holiday is over, I become upset as there will not have any other holidays till the Chinese New Year, and I will also have a very important examination to take. This examination will decide my future study and my career. So cheer up!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb