Tour bus driver does not know the way to the Terracotta Army


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Everyone knows the world famous Terracotta Warriors and Horses, however, not everybody knows the way to get there. I have been to the Terracotta Warriors and Horses Museum for thousands of times as a tour guide for more than 10 years. Last Sunday, I had a bad experience with one tour bus driver who did not know the way to get there.

I was given this tour by the company last week, and this is an American group of 26 MBA students from Louisiana State University, they came to Xi'an not mainly for sightseeing, but for business visits. On their arrival day on Sunday at noon, their plan was to visit the Terracotta Warriors and Horses. When I met the driver at the hotel before we head for the airport, I did not realize that he was a new driver, but his bus is obviously a new bus, only 2 weeks old. However, on the road, I found out he was not sure even where the airport was. So, when I got off the bus for the terminal, I gave him a telephone number of an experienced driver so that he could contact with.

Next, everything goes as scheduled, plane arrived, we would be on the way to the Terracotta Army. Before we departed, I asked him if he knew the way where we were going. He nodded. So, I started to give commentary on Xi'an and the Terracotta Warriors. As I was going only half an hour, I found out that the road was very bumpy and muddy. What happened? We were supposed to be on the highway to the Terracotta Army, where were we? I was so attentive to give them commentary that I paid no attention to the changes of the road. The driver was lost, and I was lost, too. Then we used the GPS to navigate the route, still the driver could not find the way. I called up some other drivers, they gave us the guidance so we were on the highway again. Even the driver did not know the way, he insisted on his own recognition, he drove off the highway again in the middle of nowhere. Oh, My God! What he was doing?!

We got on the bus around 1:30pm and had been on the bus for more than 2 hours, it was 3:30pm now, we were only half way through. I then decided to go back to the hotel, and change other time to go.

This is the first time in my 10 years experience that I met a driver who did not know the way to the most famous Terracotta Warriors Museum!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb