Yay for Xi'an!!! Mt Hua, City Wall & more


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
May 16th 2009
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=RWaDF7QFAkA]Xi'an has been one of my favorite city in China. I have enjoyed riding the bike to do a circuit on the City Wall very much. I hired the bike for RMB20/100mins, RMB30 for every additional 30mins. The money is not a problem but to finish a whole circuit (14km) plus taking photographs on the way isn't an easy task! But that makes the trip interesting. Seeing the sunset on the wall is another enjoyment. Then head to a pub nearby to relax myself after the exciting day.

I took a 2-hour bus ride to Mt. Hua (Huashan). The peak is merely 2,130m or 7,000ft. But the main course of the mountain is the tiny wooden path sticking out in the air at the peak. The path is 2ft wide, no rail, 108m single trip (216m round). I rented a safe belt for RMB30. The wind was really strong enough to blow me away but it didn't scare me coz after all, I came to Xi'an just to climb Mt. Hua! I needed some courage to make my first few steps but after a while, I started to enjoy the feeling of being in the air. Oh, there's a story with the path. It was built in Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368) by a monk who wanted to do quiet spiritual practice on the mountain tip. Hha! We did find the hole after the path.

There were lots of people trying to walk up the mountain but I guess less than 5% made it to the peak. We got on cable car to save time & walked another 4 hours to the peak.

The next day after Mt. Hua, I took another hour bus ride to get to the Terra-Cotta Warrior & Horses Tomb. The entry ticket costs me $90 & it wasn't interesting at all. Hm, probably I am not the type of person for museum or static things.

But I love Xi'an!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb