"Work": Day 1


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dandong
July 13th 2010
Published: July 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I came in on time just I had promised only this time I had all my luggage and accurately told the cab driver to go to the Sun Island Bath House (right next door), getting me there in one shot and for only 5 kuai as opposed to my random 10+ kuai trips the previous day. They greeted me and introduced me to Director Ai. This guy is a hoot; he's shorter and round and has the most maniacal laugh ever. He always seems like he's up to something. But anyway, he took me on a trip around town to the Sun Fortune Center where I saw my soon to be apartment that would be ready that afternoon. We then visited the Sun Towers (also owned by the company) and I got to see a model of all the real estate they're constructing. I met so many people today, my head was spinning. We went to Tower B next where I met Mr. Huang's son and some of his buddies sippin' on tea with a few cigs and just looking mafioso. In the first floor of Tower B, there is also a gold brick dealer (I guess for like investing in gold or something). Either way, I've never been that close to that large amount of gold before.

We then went back to HYHY Tower where I met the finance crew and several other higher ups. We then went to lunch at 11:30 in the company café which is actually like this little apartment in the building but pretty cool. The food was the bomb! Chef Yu can really cook and I really look forward to whatever else he has to offer. After lunch they told me my room was ready, and took me there to settle in. It's beautiful! Albeit lacking in kitchen and closet, but nonetheless a beautifully big room on the 18th floor of an unopened 5 star hotel. They said they'd be back to pick me up between 2 and 3 which turned out to be 5 apparently. Mr. Huang's driver, Mr. Xu came up to my room frantically and rushed me down to Xinandongge next door (the fancy restaurant from last night). He said they were worried about my safety and didn't want me walking around late at night so I needed to eat and then head right back home. A little overprotective maybe but I will respect it for now. He then gave me a VIP card that had a ton of money on it and told me that I could eat here each night. Trust me, the menu is big enough that I can probably go an entire month of eating here every night and never have the same thing twice. Not that I want to try everything. Right next to the lobster and king crab was a box of live bugs, this time with legs and feelers and all the things I DID NOT WANT. All in all, the food selection is quite good and I went with something that I'm pretty sure was horse meat, but still fairly delicious---just a little gamy. Apparently I'm supposed to be up and at work around 7 for breakfast so I will be turning in early. Although, I do have a massive flat screen TV with no international channels outside of Korea, but I get a good selection of Hong Kong and Macao channels which quenches my thirst for music videos on Channel V (the way MTV should be) and LotusMacao, a foreign movie channel, most of which are American and only subbed in Chinese so I still get to listen to English. Tonight's selection includes Forrest Gump and the Italian Job.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb