End of Year 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dalian » Kaifaqu
June 13th 2010
Published: June 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The viewThe viewThe view

This formerly quiet stretch of apartments across from my apartment has just been demolished for a new development...I guess I can kiss my view of Bayo Ja Rue goodbye!
Here it is, June 13th, and I have only a handful of days teaching my current students, and a week and a half of exam invigilation before it's back to Canada! I'm baffled by time sometimes, as I assume everyone is, but teaching really passes by in the cliched blink of an eye. I guess it's because every day is so different, there are always a thousand things to plan, mark, and monitor; there are always students to encourage, console, and advise. The past two months have been filled with exam planning, department head wrap-up meetings, and school play preparation.

The school play (The Wizard of Oz musical) had its grande opening and finale this past Wednesday and Thursday nights, and it was phenomenal! It was really cool to be a part of this production. My role was much more active in the beginning (back in October), when it was just myself and my coworker Dan working as co-directors. After the 5-week break in February I asked another teacher to step in to take over as director and I would just take credit as Director of Casting and script writer/editor. Lindsay and Dan did such a great job of getting everything organized, and both the audience and cast members were shocked and ecstatic with the results. There were 8 main cast members, about 30 dancing munchkins, and about 15 Indian-dancing flying monkeys. The students were all fantastic actors, and dancers. It was exciting! I'm still gushing.

Other than the musical, there have also been school performances, including one of my students holding a "piano concert" which was actually more like a fully-staged rock show, and included beverages, snacks, and glow sticks for VIPs (which included me, being this boy's teacher). There is nothing quite like a Chinese production; you need to see it to believe it. There have also been end-of-the-year gatherings, dinners, and street barbeques. About half the school is leaving next year, with only 13 new hires (we'll all be teaching 33% more). Only two of my close friends are leaving, so I feel lucky in that respect. I do know, however, that next year will be my last year at Maple Leaf, so I'm returning armed with reference letters, observation reports, personal essays for applications, and a list of 25 countries I might want to live in next. I have no idea what the year after
It's been mighty foggy hereIt's been mighty foggy hereIt's been mighty foggy here

And this is the view from the top.
next will look like, and I'm already feeling a little nostalgic for my experience here (even though I'll be here for one year), but it's time to move on.

And that's it...the end of year 2! Till next school year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My officeMy office
My office

Old building 201. I'm the middle chair
Identity wrap-upIdentity wrap-up
Identity wrap-up

Students "identity mixer"
what the--?what the--?
what the--?

Recycling art
The Wizard of OzThe Wizard of Oz
The Wizard of Oz

Dancing munchkins


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb