New year and beyond


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
January 4th 2011
Published: January 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I am officially terrible! I've just been so busy this past week and my charger broke, so I haven't updated.
So many things have happened and there are so many things I have to tell you, but seen as I don't wander around with my notebook, I know I will miss out a lot of things.

I will start with new years. Most of the foreign teachers and their partners went for a meal at Trippy- which is fast becoming my fave restaurant (china is not good for my waistline). Then we went on to Malone's (the irish bar). The rest of the evening was pretty much the same as any other new years and resulted in me being bed-bound for the next day. We played this really cool dice game, which helped me learn chinese numbers and sign language for numbers, and I got home around 4am.- I know this only because as I got in, I knocked my alarm clock off the table and the battery fell out!! I'm quite lucky that we had the next day off because I was the most hungover i have ever been!

Since then, I have taught a couple of lessons, which went relatively well, and observed most of the other teachers. I really enjoyed watching Adam teaching the 'small stars' (the really young kids), they do a lot of singing and dancing - they have so much energy and absorb the language so quickly!

I am well and truly over my jetlag now but i felt rather home sick today. I think it's because I have far to much time on my hands- as I have said, most of the teachers are 'coupled up' , so they do their own thing most of the time- At times, i do feel quite lonely.
However, I do really love china- although from the outside things may seem quite fast paced, ZJG is laid-back. I love my job- I know I haven't been here long, but I have had some crappy jobs and I know this isn't going to be another. the teaching is fun and challenging and for once, I am using my brain! The location of the school is pretty cool too- every evening shift i get to go on the roof and i can see many different fireworks displays going on at once!

I have set myself a goal for the week- I have to make more of an effort to meet people, learn more chinese and enjoy the luxury of time!!!

There are so many things I wish I could describe to you and show you, but they just can't be put into words! I have 2days off now so I am going to spend them learning y way around ZJG and planning my upcoming holiday for chinese new year.

Love to you all xxx

Ps- i promise some pictures by thursday!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb