The days after christmas


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
December 28th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So the last few days have been packed and I've had no internet access, so I' going to bundle them altogether! I have observed a few lessons, had my induction and signed my contract. I've begun to learn the local teacher's names and my Chinese is improving bit by bit- out of necessity really!
Getting around is still a problem. Everyone keeps telling me that Zhangjiagang is 'so small'! Well to me it's a Metropolis and I keep getting lost. However, i have begun to venture out on my own- yesterday I took the 'short walk' to walking street from the office (it took me nearly and hour) I had a little look around and decided to take a taxi back to school seen as I have no way of telling the time and I had work later on. I also walked to work from my appartment today (with help from my flatmates diagram) with no problems ( it took around 20 minutes!)
I'll forget all the minor details of the last days and skip to the funny stories!
firstly, i noticed a pipe sign on a door at the school and thought it was a smoking room. When I went to investigate I figured that it was not because why would you need a urinal with your fag?
I then feel over a speedbump on walking street whilst a colleague was taking me to pay the phonebill- not embarassing at all- i have some bruises!
I went out from the flat for the first time, took a stroll and then couldn't find my way back. When I eventually arrived at the complex I spent 10 minutes trying my key in the wrong door! I the realised that not only was it the wrong door it was the wrong block!! I've some to relise that to find your way around Zhagnjiangang you have to get lost, the you never want to do it again!

So today i had my medical (not bad at all) , opened a bank account and bought a Chinese sim card. I hope it works in my phone!! I had my first ever tutorial on y own with a cute kid who needed help with a speech he's going to give! It went really well which reminded e that this is what i WANT to be doing. Yes, it's a great way to see China, but I want to be a teacher- as sad as that sounds, I don't really care- it's so fun and rewarding and let's face it- it's not the worst paid job.

With that in mind, i'm off tothe land of nod. I have 2 days off now and I intend on spending it cleaning the flat, learning chinese and getting over jetlag!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb