Last Days in Suzhou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
May 23rd 2011
Published: May 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I haven't really been doing that much in Suzhou, at least it would look that way if you made a list. And that was kind of the point. I used the time to just be in a familiar city in China, and take a break after the semester, before the month-long solo portion of the trip.

Mike and I played a lot of Mario Kart, and a computer game called Deadlock, and mostly stayed around his neighborhood, occasionally meeting up with some of his friends/fellow teachers. We went to a lot of the same old restaurants he had introduced me to before, as well as a few new ones that had opened since I last was in town.

It's been a good two weeks, and I'm sad to leave, even as I'm excited about the rest of the trip and getting to visit other countries for the first time. I've had a good time with Mike, and being here reminded me of how much I miss having him be just downstairs all the time. He'll be in Bozeman for a few weeks later in the summer, and we've convinced a few of our other friends to come back to town as well, so there will be a reunion of sorts which should be a lot of fun.

Next stop is Nanjing, the capital of Jiangsu province (where Suzhou is) and former capital of China (where...uh...Suzhou is).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb