First fortnight in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
May 1st 2012
Published: May 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Innit!



So I've got a job and an apartment in Wuhan now. I work for an English Language school for mostly (thank God) adults, who actually want to be there. They love my take on the English language, and am proud to say several people in the city now know the words 'Hangover' and 'Kebab'

It's very different here. For example, they call Chinese Supermarkets simply Supermarkets, which confused me no end. But not as much as KFC selling crab cakes, I swear I nearly fainted.

McDonalds tastes the same, but a hell of a lot cheaper, and most of the staff there have Masters degrees, so calculating change is rarely an issue.

I'm writing this in a French bar just around the corner from my flat, all the foreigners are french here (Citroen and Peugeot have a plant in the city) so I'm speaking far more french than I am chinese currently. I'm suspending my alcohol ban for one day, what with it being my birthday and all. I'm having a pint of La Chouffe, which is actually pretty La Shit, but you can smoke in bars here so I'm pretty happy. I've had several Crepes here, I'm craving a bacon roll like you wouldn't believe.

The women are becoming more and more attractive each day. Aside from finding myself in the Orient, I think pretty soon I'll be finding myself inside one. Ce la vie!

So I'm going to practice my schoolboy french once more, I only remember the bad words so I think I've got a bit of a reputation as a foul mouthed Scot already.

Loving it so far, really good fun. Missing home but not as much as I thought I would

Love and kisses

Duncan

xx

Advertisement



1st May 2012

I MISS YOU
happy birthday, have a jaegarbomb on me! xo please make a little half chinese baby and bring it home so i can practise carrying it and stuff! :D
1st May 2012

Only you could say what you just have....
Great update Dunks although I'm not sure about the "finding yourself in the Orient..." comment, nor how your female readers may take it but it wouldn't be you if you didn't speak so openly :-) Take care Mr Dunks and keep the updates coming Paul Mc
1st May 2012

Starting Up
Hey Dunks, you've got an apartment. Did that come with the job or, have you got to pay bills? I'm on eHarmony now and find myself looking for your kind of humour. Take it easy with those girls, monsieur. We're missing you but, not as much as I thought we would - ha! Lots of love Txx
3rd May 2012

Miss yooooooooou
Dunc, Im loving your updates. Miss you loads. We went out on Friday and quite frankly without you telling me you love me and inviting yourself round for cheese it sucked!! Love u millions xxxxxx :-P xxxxxx

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb