Cherry Blossoms


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
March 29th 2011
Published: April 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Making some noodles 16 secs
222

I wonder how long he was writing for!
The past week or so has been beautiful here in Wuhan. This week the temperatures have been around 20 degrees everyday; it's been wonderful. Although it does make me a little worried for when May and June when it's suppose to get really hot. Everything is getting greener and flowers are starting to bloom. There's a pond behind our apartments that grows lotus, they are suppose to very beautiful when they start to bloom so I'm excited to see that; but I could do without the frogs who are so loud.
Last Saturday we went to the Cherry Blossom Festival at Wuhan University. It was really nice to actually do some sight-seeing instead of just shopping or going to the bar. The Festival happens over a weekend every spring, and because it only happens once a year the crowds were huge. I don't think I've ever seen so many people in one place, it felt like herding cattle. Luckily we didn't have to stand in line or wait to get in; one of the teachers I was with had a friend sneak us in through a book store and she was our tour guide for the day. The campus at the
111

This went on for probably half a block or so.
University was really pretty with a lot of old buildings and Chinese architecture. The cherry blossoms were so pretty, I had never seen them before. Some of the sidewalks were lined with trees and made the scenery beautiful.
Probably the funniest thing that happened all day was how many people asked to take pictures with us. I think we must have been stopped 50 times by random people wanting to be in a photo with us. If there was more than 3 or 4 of us taking a picture a huge crowd would form and take pictures of us. There are so few foreigners here that I guess we are a pretty big deal especially when there is a big group of us.
After we finished walking around campus the girl we were with showed us her dorm room at the university. It was insane how small it is. It was much smaller than any dorm room I've ever seen and is shared between 4 people! I don't know how they have any room to do anything. It really makes me wonder how they get ready in the morning because you never see a Chinese girl looking anything other than completely put together and well dressed.
This week has been really busy with school. I got a little behind on my marking and hand 2 unit tests to write. So I've been at school until 6 or 7 most days this week. On Thursday the students put on a No Pop Concert, which was great. There was everything from punk to classical (except no pop music).


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

1111
11

I don't know what it is but I thought it looked cool, the wall had carvings all along it
The Mall at nightThe Mall at night
The Mall at night

I think my first of second blog has a picture of the mall in the day. This is the sails at night, they change colours.


3rd April 2011

hey!
those cherry blossoms are INSANE!!! I have always wanted to see them!! And I love how you all are such a circus show to chinese people ha ha.....its like your a rock star or something! SO jealous you are in 20 degree weather....it snowed in Calgary yesterday....boo! Cant wait to hear more! Take care!
4th April 2011

Wow those cherry blossom trees are amazing! It looks like a really nice city.I hear you booked your trip to thailand, bet your looking forward to that. Glad the weather is nice somewhere in the world. Tired of rain. Have a great time in thailand if I don't talk to you before you go. Take care Auntie Karen
4th April 2011

cherry blossoms
Hello my Megan You are sooooo lucky to be in China @ cherry blossom time I think they are the most beautiful flowering trees of all Iwish I could be there to see them.What are your plans after this session is over? a repeat in China or try elsewhere. Im so glad you & Haley will be getting together soon. Give each other a BIG hug from me & have lots of fun but be careful Love Nana

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb