China and Change of Plans


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
September 3rd 2001
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm now in Yangshou, China - possibly one of the most beautiful places we've been to on the entire trip. It's quite rural, and the main attraction is the limestone karsts - huge rock formations rising up as far as the eye can see. We've spent almost a week here, cycling around the countryside, climbing one of the peaks, taking a river-boat ride, and a trip to see cormorant fishing - very cruel! I've also had a dress and top custom-made for $5 and $3 respectively!

Tonight we are taking an overnight bus to Hong Kong. I wonder how it will compare to the train - hopefully people won’t spit on the floor there too!

Apart from a few disgusting habits, the Chinese people, contrary to what a lot of travellers say, are in fact very friendly and helpful. After taking a 24 hour overnight train from Beijing to Guangzhou, a Chinese family went out of their way to help us by driving us all over the city to make sure we got our train ticket to Yanghshou alright, then took us to a cheap hotel and booked us in under the grandfathers name so as to get a
YangshouYangshouYangshou

Cycling through the Limestone Karsts
discount. unfortunately, as soon as they left, the receptionist came up and kicked us out - apparently it was a "Chinese only" hotel!!!

Our travel plans have changed rather a lot from Hong Kong onwards. Scott (my friend from San Francisco) is coming out to join me from Bangkok onwards in October. Helen and Ursula are going to only spend a week in Malaysia and then go straight to New Zealand, then to Australia to work. From Hong Kong, I am going to travel to Vietnam on my own for 3 weeks until I meet up with Scott. We are then going to all meet up again in Australia before Christmas.

Although I am a little nervous about travelling on my own, I am quite looking forward to it in some ways. A lot of travellers swear by it, so it will be fun to give it a go for a few weeks, by which time I think I will be glad to meet up with Scott! You all have to send me lots of news and gossip through e-mail in case I get lonely!





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

YangshouYangshou
Yangshou

Farmer herding his cows


Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb