Yanshuo Day 4


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
February 24th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Saturday all of us went on another bike ride with an American girl we met that morning named Nicki. (We were also joined by Dave and Sean's friends Dom and Sophie, who arrived thursday night.) This time we moved north along the river instead of south. (or maybe it’s east instead of west.) Dave claimed to know of a good place to go swimming. We moved off the path, through some rice paddies and gardens (the people were very friendly), pushed through some bamboo and finally found the river. We parked the bikes, stripped and jumped in. AHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! COLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everyone wanted to swim across the river, but someone needed to stay and guard the bikes and our belongings, so I volunteered. I have to admit I was pretty bored, until a couple of little girls showed up and wanted to meet me. We jumped around in some sand and then played with some mud. It was fun. Eventually the others swam back, and just as we were starting to change it started to rain. Hard. I could barely see the whole way back. So I guess it probably wasn’t a good idea to try a fast u-turn around some market stalls back in town. I totally wiped out. In front of everyone. Sigh. That night we spent hours and hours at Dave’s favorite place, Kelly’s. They had AMAZING western food. (a bacon burger. No, not a burger with bacon on it. A burger MADE of bacon.) We met a great girl named Karen, whose China story is practically identical to mine. There are only 6 expats in her town. Anyway, she was really great, and decided to join us on our trip to the rice terraces the next day. Originally no one would agree to go with me and I was going to have to go by myself, but once Karen and I started talking about it, everyone suddenly wanted it. I got tired pretty early and went to bed around 12, but the others stayed out pretty late, Sean Dave and Nicki especially. As they were walking home they saw what they thought was pile of bodies. At a closer look, they saw that indeed, it was a pile of three Chinese bodies. Suddenly they heard a soft “help!” “Help! Get him off of me! He’s drunk!” A Chinese man had passed out on top of a Chinese girl and she couldn’t get him off. Then she turned out to be our waitress the next morning! Ah, small world. Anyway, It was a fun day. More to come. Keep checking. -carrie


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Brrr.Brrr.
Brrr.

Can you see them? On the Rock? Hanging out without me?


19th April 2007

pile of bodies
where is the pile of bodies picture???? everybody needs a good pile of bodies picture.
19th April 2007

Three Little Pigs
That guy with the sticks! I always wondered where the second little pig bought a bundle of sticks. Now I know! And he looks like such a happy man!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb