The endless bus ride


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
January 26th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the Li river cruiseOn the Li river cruiseOn the Li river cruise

In front of karst peaks
Finally I am in Yangshuo! Great place, beautiful karst peaked scenery, river, and farms. I'm staying at the Yangshuo Culture House, a place run by a man named Wei. The family lives here, they have rooms for up to 8 guests, and I get all my meals cooked for me. Tonight's was delicious. The room is clean, simple, nice. Getting here today was an adventure. Some of which was great, some was tiresome, some was just silly.
I booked a river tour yesterday for a boat trip down the Li river, which flows between Guilin and Yangshuo. So I had to be ready to go by 8:00. Well, at about 8:40, the tour director comes rushing in and hurries us (there were 2 women waiting also) out to the bus. So, about maybe 45 minutes later or so, we end up at the river, where there are dozens of boats lined up on the beach. She guides us to our respective boats, and we were off after some jostling for seats. What incredible sights! I am trying to upload pics, but it is failing every time. I may have to try again tomorrow, sorry. Just google "Yangshuo China" and look at
Li river sceneryLi river sceneryLi river scenery

So many pics of this beautiful river
pics, and paste one of me in front...
The boat tour was a couple hours, with lunch included. Nice deal for $185 yuan ($25 or so).
But I paid for it on the way to Yangshuo, as we were somehow stuck touring around to a bunch of tourist attractions with shops that they wanted us to buy things at. I was expecting just a direct trip to Yangshuo, but it didn't work that way. There were a few of us from the hostel that thought the same thing, but , oh well, eventually we did get to YS, and after a phone call and a little wandering, I found myself picked up by my host of accomodations on a motorcycle and taken to where I will spend the next 3 days.
Anyway, I have tons of pics, so tomorrow I will find a way to post some, at an internet cafe or something.
Tomorrow I will rent a bike and ride out into the scenery.... If I don't get lost, I will post pics after that.

OK, I managed to shrink the pics and get some uploaded... Enjoy, I'm off to rent a bike!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

From the busy boatFrom the busy boat
From the busy boat

Lots of tourists on the boat! many smoking cigarettes...
Lads at the hostelLads at the hostel
Lads at the hostel

in Guilin, staying up late
Floating alongFloating along
Floating along

These guys would come up to the tour boats to try to sell goods, and hang on for a ride
Holding onHolding on
Holding on

And selling pretty rocks or something...
Tour guideTour guide
Tour guide

Showing us a mountain that looked like 2 (somethings) kissing. Apparently a popular spot on valentines day
Famous banyon treeFamous banyon tree
Famous banyon tree

On our tour to Yangshuo, one of our stops was here. The tree is in some famous movie apparently


30th January 2007

wow
that scenery looks awesome!!!!!! i wish i could've seen it

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb