In Guilin


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
January 25th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

GuangzhouGuangzhouGuangzhou

a street
Hi Everyone.
I'm in Guilin, trying to make a post, but the connection seems poor. I will try to put up some photos now.
OK, got a few pics up. It's a pretty slow connection, so it takes a while...
the train to Guilin from Guangzhou worked out fine. I was in a sleeper car with a family going to Fulan, I think. The only tricky part was that they never announced what stop we were at, so I was a little concerned about getting off at the right stop. But it worked out.
At one stop, there were food vendors at the station, and we ordered food out the window, it was handed in. Pretty good, too!
Now I'm in guilin at the youth hostel. It;s a pretty bustling place. Lots of 20 something travelers stay here, as well as some older ones like me or older. tomorrow morning I take a river cruise on the Li river to see the famous karst scenery, then I will go to Yangshuo for a few days and bike around there.
I've met some interesting travelers form Ireland, and Canada, and germany here. Popular place. Anyway, It is getting late, and I need
Qingping marketQingping marketQingping market

bins of all imaginable spices, grains, dried fruit, mushrooms, etc
to get up early for the river cruise in the morning. Hopefully, I will have a better internet connection in Yangshuo, and make a better post.

Ming tien jien...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Girl on TrainGirl on Train
Girl on Train

On the sleeper train, I was in a section with a family that had a little girl that was very funny and interested in the camera.
At the parkAt the park
At the park

These girls dressed in traditional Maio and Yaio (sp?) would accost people in the park and charge for pics. This one cost 10 yuan.
Lesser PandaLesser Panda
Lesser Panda

At a zoo in a park in Guilin


26th January 2007

nic pic of guangzhou
man, of all the places in GZ..where did you go!! It looked like a back street of a not so popular area. Guilin is very good place. Hope you got good travel tips from other travelers.
30th January 2007

lala
that lesser panda looks cool! and that little girl is cute. hope you're having fun.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb