Completely forgot about this blog, :


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhuhai
December 3rd 2009
Published: December 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So in breaking news, I am still in China and not in Minnesota. Who would have guessed it!? I think living in China has increased my sarcasm to a pretty extreme degree. I blame fellow international students. I have now been away from MN for 85 days. I think the most important thing I've learned at this point is that: Regardless of location/situation/etc. I can adjust to just about anything. It's insane that what was once seen as "crazy" or "overwhelming" is now everyday moments. Taking the buses to get stuff done? No big deal. Speaking Chinese? Still hard but hey, I've made some progress.
Regardless of what I get used to, there are still moments of complete rejection of where I am. I think November was spent finally "normalizing" life in China but then I was faced with a new issue. Now that I've adjusted... what in the hell do I do next? And what am I going to do when I return home and find myself missing Zhuhai? When I first arrived in Zhuhai, I found myself saying that, "Oh there is no way I'll miss it here. I'm glad I'm here but once I'm gone, I'll never look back."
Suddenly Minnesota is no longer "the routine" and China is. When I talk to other international students it seems that many of us have come to the conclusion that: Our lives in Minnesota (or other places) seem like some vast distant memory and our looming futures at home seem like some unknown fantasy. China is the only reality we've ever known and it's a pretty insane feeling to feel.
There are days where I think, "Am I ever going to see Minnesota again?" Like the stories the international kids swap are pieces from some old life that no longer exists. It seems I'll be living in a place in which I'm always in the future. "Oh so wait, we're confused... what time is it there? What day is it? Aren't you sleeping?" seem to permeate every discussion I have with people from home but when I return, will I call China and ask the same questions. I'm speculating a lot right now, I'm in a really strange mood.
I think the idea that I'm going home next month is so exciting yet it's so scary because I'm going to have to experience reverse culture shock. It's as if I want it to be the last three days of living here perpetually because I know I'm going home soon yet I have only a few days left to savor the insane experience of life in China.
There are so many things I want to say yet I think I've hit the wall again. So hopefully I'll remember to update this more often but if I don't... well such is life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb