A Picture is Worth Some Funny Words


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
May 21st 2009
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Photo Under DiscussionThe Photo Under DiscussionThe Photo Under Discussion

For the record, they're enroute to church to be married. They've eaten nothing. They have no children.
A few weeks ago, I had my 9th graders write a dialogue in which they and their partner describe what is happening in a photo. After they write it, I go around the room and they stand and perform the dialogue for me. I chose a photo from my best friend's wedding last summer in which she and her husband were sitting in a horse-drawn carriage enroute to the church. I told my students nothing about who they were or what they were doing, asking them to draw their own conclusions and answer the following questions:


The following are some of my favorite answers:
*Fall in Love
*I am Romeo and Juliet. (this was performed by 2 boys)
*The driver is their lover and they will run away, leaving the groom. (I then pointed out that the driver was a woman, and suddenly my best friend was the jilted one.)
*Love forever
*The man is thinking about how he is now responsible for the woman.
*Make lots of babies.
*Now let's sing (Followed by bad humming of "Here Comes the Bride" complete with bouncy dancing.)
*They are going on a picnic. (I got that one a lot.)
*They are riding the horse.
*They are smiling because they learned how to balance. They fell off the horse many times.
*Horse cart (I got this a lot, despite having written "carriage" on the chalkboard.)
*Whore cart (ahhh, those pesky "S"s.)
*Choose the house
*He is thinking the carriage is very expensive.
*Love stories
*The man must work very hard to buy her presents.
*They had two babies and are now getting married.
*They had a baby.
*Make a good family
*Be happy every day


Most of my students wished the happy couple well, offering congratulations or the wish that they be happy forever.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb