My 'Day After Christmas' Tradition


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
February 5th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Not just any McDonald'sNot just any McDonald'sNot just any McDonald's

This was the first McDonald's to open in Mainland China (1990)
Chelsea and I have had a tradition for the past fifteen years. We go shopping on the day after Christmas. It started as a way for my parents to get a little peace and quiet after all the mayhem (when I was 18 and Chelsea was just 7), but turned into something my lil sis and I really looked forward to. It's our 'sister' time and last summer we were bemoaning the fact that we would miss it this year. Thankfully, we did not.

I didn't want Chelsea to leave China without experiencing Dongmen, so that's where we went for our 'sister' shopping. Dongmen is a maze of shops and I'm amazed we didn't get lost, given my track record. And for the ten or so readers who will get this: There are no obelisks here to distract me. 😊 Chelsea's main mission was to find jeans. We were not very hopeful though, after the leggings incident in Hong Kong. Sure enough, we were unable to find any item of clothing (at least, not that I can remember. Chelsea, correct me if I'm wrong). We did, however, discover some fantastic Chinglish signs, which is the primary reason for this brief entry of the shopping day that fell between Christmas and our trek to Chiwan. Enjoy the pictures and I'll get to writing the next entry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

No Papking!No Papking!
No Papking!

Whoever the Papking is, he's not allowed in the fire passage.
Earth to Mars...Earth to Mars...
Earth to Mars...

This, by far, is my favorite Chinglish sign to date


5th February 2009

Do what with my butts?
Why does put out your cigarette buts warrant such a lengthy instruction?
5th February 2009

Shopping
Why in fact sister you are wrong because I did buy a sweater and a long sleeve shirt in the "disney" store remember? Both of which were a size large, and the shirt is very form fitting.

Tot: 0.457s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.2154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb