Last of Asia


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
June 10th 2006
Published: August 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mongolian Hot PotMongolian Hot PotMongolian Hot Pot

A must try, so good and spicy : )

Research tour in Guangzhou



One of my courses organized a field trip visit to some start up companies and well established factories. For instance: the biggest Soya sauce/cooking sauce/spices manufacturer in China to study there production processes, fermentation tanks, etc. We visited yeast factories, pharmaceutical manufactures, bioremediation and phytoremediation companies. We were so well received (it was there that I finally learnt how to play majo).

Indian Conference & Spice

(pictures of India will be on my next, final, blog)

India was just something else, I dont even know where to begin. I like India because you can easily search out for the real and untouristic parts... unlike other hot tourist spots like Thailand, you can still experience India in an authentic way. Things that marked me most were the heat!!!! the women and their bright coloured saris and jewellery (so much GOLD!), the spices, the smells (not all so good) the food was amazing (eating with ur hands) and had so many flavouring herbs and seeds!!!! some literally made my tongue tingle, various tea and other drinks, the sounds, the languages, the poverty, the smiles, the shaking of the head from side to side as they talk,
FarmsFarmsFarms

Field trip scenery
the bargaining "Ketna, Ketna", the time of fellowship in Gods presence during the conference! The conference was on being an Excellent Minister, it was given by the (general overseer) the pastor of the RCCG church he came down from Nigeria for the Asian conference. There were Christians from all over Asia!


Hong Kong life…



I have grown accustomed to the sights and sounds of Hong Kong, I will definitely miss its unique flavour. However I’ve come to realize we’re such a global village, I meet Hong Kongers everywhere I go and most often end up having a great chat with them. Once day on my way coming back from work in Geneva, 2 guys sat next to me and started speaking in Igbo, not realising I understood. On my way coming back from Padova, Italy I overheard at least 3 conversations is serious deep wawa Igbo, as I was in the train from Paris to Geneva I overheard some Ghanaians speaking in Twi. On my way to Barcelona I overheard many Hong Kong tourists… While in Paris and Venice I had such a big huge smile on my face after using my tiny Chinese with some tourists,
Jiaozi, dumplingJiaozi, dumplingJiaozi, dumpling

my roommate and I tried making dumplings
there are so many Montrealers backpacking across Europe! … the list just goes on, be it Hong Kong or Italy, Geneva or India you'll find the cultural collage. Just yesterday morning I was in the North-West of Italy, by Afternoon in the South of France and by evening in Switzerland Geneva… I’m amazed at how accessible and small, yet divers and vast our world is.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Fechang Xie XieFechang Xie Xie
Fechang Xie Xie

My thank you note to my Lishu (form of chinese writing) teacher.
RoseRose
Rose

I miss u big time : )
Me, my mask and IMe, my mask and I
Me, my mask and I

bye bye Hong Kong life : (


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb