A Month to Remember


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
October 8th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I would like to start off by first apologizing for the extremely tacky title to my first post but more importantly i would like to apologize for the amount of time it has taken me to get this blog up and working. And due to the high number of requests (pretty much only my mom), I finally got it started.

From now on imma try and stay pretty active on it because itll be nice to keep all the people back home updated on what im doing and also, it will be cool to look back on after this experience is all said and done.

Anyways, so the first month…shit, i cant believe its already been a month. Pretty crazy to think about because when we (For those who dont know, I came with 5 of my best friends. Pictured below) first got in, the days seem like they would go on forever. The first week was spent sweating. Just straight sweating. Like i would get out of the shower and by the time i put my clothes on i was sweating again. I got to the point where i didnt even shower no more because i found it completely pointless and the horrible smell of B.O. to be more time efficient. Other than the fact that it felt like i was in a steam room 24/7 those first few weeks, I spent the first week “training” to primary school and kindergarten. I put quotations around training because all we really did was sit around the company office for half the time waiting for the staff to tell us what to do then we would give a mock lesson for 20 minutes then sit and wait again. then repeat.

After i was deemed fully trained, I was placed at the affiliate school of Beijing University. I teach the same lesson 29 times, 5 days a week, 8 hours a day. Throw in a couple songs of the ‘itsby-bitsy spider and countless games of hangman and you to could become a qualified English teacher in in China! needless to say, by Wednesday my brain is officially turned off and is set to repeat mode. Its all good though cuz once Friday hits, it is an absolute blast.

Last few weekends, we have all gone out to some crazy Chinese clubs and had an absolute blast. I bet the Chinese are just shocked when they see 6 tall obnoxious americans run up into their club and start bouncing off the walls, after they get a few bottles of Tsingtao beer in them. Apart from the nighlife, I have been lucky to meet a good number of new friends ranging from England to right here in China. Couple guys from England are english teachers here and live right by tim and mark and have been huge with advice. I have also made friends with a guy named Ben who is brother in law with my other friend from China Jim Fan (shout out to T-Max Gear!). Ben and Jim were a huge help in getting me accommodation here in China (a fat apartment overlooking the Pear River), we went out to an amazing family dinner one night with some of their friends and we even played basketball at a court in Guangzhou that had over 30 hoops set up and they were all filled. I was in Heaven.

I know that probably is a very vague entry post but the main thing is i got this thing started so ill get into more specific stuff as the days go on to keep it fresh and keep you all updated. But seriously hit me up on email: ronangalvin@gmail.com cuz i wanna hear how all of you are doing as well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Swan BaySwan Bay
Swan Bay

the place where i lay my head..it aint to bad.
P9280411P9280411
P9280411

Dont let there smiles fool ya! they get nasty!


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb