Dun Huang, an image of flying into the sky


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Gansu » Dunhuang
September 17th 2012
Published: September 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dunhuang, is one of the most famous cities in China because of the Mogao Caves. It was the most important town on the Silk Road. The caravans with camels got the last rest and rich supplement in the desert, and then were heading into the unpredictable world.

I believe that Duanhuang is a miracle. It is so amazing such an oasis existing in the desert. I suffered the heavy sunshine a lot before I reached there. Then plenty of plants in that small town welcomed me.

But it was still very hot. After all we were in the middle of desert, even though it’s not very middle. I found a small cheap hotel with air conditioners. I was afraid of looking at the mirror. My face had almost been burnt. I like a tan face, but not a burning color.

Hmm, six things must be thought about when you are in this town. Mogao Caves, Yumen Gate, Yardang landform, Mingsha Hill and Yueya Spring, the image of flying into the sky and the yellow noodle with donkey meat.

Since I was a child, Duanhuang appeared in my mind with an image of a fairy flying into the sky. In fact the one who was flying into the sky was not a fairy. This image usually shown in graves with the meaning of the dead person was flying into the heaven. It is a very typical image in the Mogao Caves, and all these images are very beautiful.

Talk about my special dinner – noodles with donkey meat, there is an interesting story. The gatekeeper of my small and poor hotel is an old poor man. I asked him where could I found the real yellow noodles. He suggested me an old restaurant that he though was the best. He also gave me a very complicated route to get there. I walked follow a main road; turned to another main street, cut across some small lanes, finally I was in a special street. I said it was a special street because I saw many beautiful ladies there and apparently they had their small special rooms one besides one…

Anyway, I got my destination in the end of this lovely street. It was really nice noodle and I was sure even it was not the best in this town; it must be one of the oldest one. (Next day I tried another noodle in the market, which is more for tourists. It was terrible taste!!!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb