XiaMen and GuLanYu, becoming an attraction myself


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen
January 9th 2014
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 24.4798, 118.082

I only went to XiaMen to use it as a base to visit the Tulou (see previous entry) and I was not planning to spend any time here. Well, the good thing when you travel with no schedule is that you are very flexible and can adapt. So I spend about three days here (1.5 days before and after the Tulou) and I really enjoyed it. I could have probably spent one more day.

Part 1: Sunday is a good day to visit a city because it is bustling with life. I like cities at the week-end. I went to NanPuTuo temple. The temple itself is nice but you can't see into the halls because there is too many tourists. That's a pity. But you can climb the mountain/hill behind it and get a good view over the city and the fog... I got all sweaty getting up, it's warm here and I was still in North-mode wearing many warm layers. I had to remove many and carry them. At some point on my way down, I got ask by two girls if they could take a picture with me. OK. After that little exercise I went to XiaMen University main campus and got some cheap food there. It's a very nice campus, with a lake and palm trees. People come here for a walk and family seem to use the university ground as a park at the week-end. I saw only few students, the majority of people were just like me, having a stroll around on a nice Sunday afternoon. Even the student accommodation are in very nice bricks buildings. Again I was asked by a girl if she could take a picture with me and her boyfriend joined in. Oh well. Smile. One of the university gate gives on the sea front so I walked along it to HuLiShan fortress. Where you can see a German Krupp canon over 100 years old and still in its original place. It's just huge! They had some sort of show to demonstrate how to load a regular canon from the front. And they actually blank fired it which made everybody jump in surprise. I decided to walk along the coastal path to watch the sunset. It was a really promising sunset, It starting to come very red and I thought it would be amazing to catch it just when it disappears on the horizon. Well, it disappeared a lot earlier than that, it the clouds/fog. Sad times. I was to realised that around here most sunset are like that (all the one I have seen so far). Twice today I spotted people taking sneaky shoots of me. I wonder how many did without me realising….

Part 2: I came back from the Tulou just early enough to go to GuLan island to catch the last couple of hours of light and then some speciality food. Gulangyu features building dating back from the colonial era with mainly Victorian-style. Many countries had consulate here, including Great Britain, France, Japan, the US and also established churches, hospitals and villas. Some building are in poor state and Banyan trees are taking over. Others are so-so and then locals are taking those over. Only few are still showing their previous grandeur. I went back to the island the next morning, with a girl (Echo) I just met at the hostel. The atmosphere on the island is very relaxed (despite the flow of tourist), there is no cars here. We walked around the old streets and went to Shuzuang garden and it's piano museum. They had lots of old piano, some squares and some standing (don't expect any pictures, they were not allowed). We had an amazing lunch, lots of little things! Mainly sea food. After that we walked around a bit more but then we were tired and a bit cold. So we stopped in a rather bizarre shop to have tea. The tea was not so good but the great thing is that you drink it in a jar that feature a cat or a dog and that you can paint it and keep it afterward. Rather fun. Lots of people were here and no kids, only young adults…

Je ne me suis posée à Xiamen que pour m'en servir de base pour aller visiter le tulou (voir article précédent) et je ne pensais pas passer de temps ici. Bon, le truc bien quand tu voyages sans avoir tout planifié à l'avance c'est que tu peux t'adapter à la situation. Et comme en fait c'est plutôt sympa ici j'y ai passé trois jours (1,5 jours avant les tulous et pareil après).

Première partie: J'aime bien visiter les villes le dimanche car il y a beaucoup d'animations. Le matin je suis allée visiter le temple Nanputuo. Le temple
en lui même n'est pas sensationnel car comme il y a beaucoup de touristes ils ont fermé les portes des principales salles. Donc on ne peut pas voir les statues à l'intérieur. Par contre, on peut monter dans la montagne/colline derrière le temple et de là haut on a une bonne bue sur la ville et la pollution. J'ai choppé une super suée à monter car ici il fait chaud et moi je ne me suis pas adaptée et j'ai toujours plusieurs épaisseurs comme s'il allait faire -15°. Du coup j'ai tout quitté (jusqu'au t-shirt) et j'ai du tout trimbaler. En descendant, deux nanas m'ont demandé si elle pouvaient se prendre en photo avec moi. Pourquoi pas. Au pied de la montagne, vraiment pas loin du temple se trouve l'université de Xiamen. J'y suis allée y faire un tour. Le cadre est vraiment sympa, avec un lac et des palmiers. Les gens de la ville semblent utiliser le campus comme un parc. Il y avait tout un tas de monde qui se baladait en famille, genre la sortie du dimanche. Même les résidences universitaires sont dans des bâtiments en briques vraiment sympa. Et de nouveau on m'a demandé si on pouvait se faire prendre en photos avec moi...je crois qu'il va falloir que je m'y fasse. Une des portes du campus donne sur la mer et de là je suis allée à la forteresse d'Hulishan. A l'intérieur il y a un canon allemand Krupp qui a plus de cent ans. Il est vraiment énorme. Ils avaient une sorte de démonstration sur 'comment charger un canon' et ils ont même tiré à blanc. Ce qui a fait sursauter tout le monde. Après ça je me suis baladée le long de la côte pour regarder le coucher du soleil. Je pensais qu'il allait être génial, le soleil était bien rouge et j'avais trouvé un endroit où je pourrais le voir passer l'horizon entre les bateaux. Bon ça c'était en théorie, en pratique le soleil a disparu dans les nuages/la pollution bien avant d'atteindre la ligne d'horizon. Dommage. Pendant que je regardais le 'coucher du soleil' j'ai remarqué un gars qui prenais une photo de moi. C'est la deuxième fois que je le remarque. Je me demande bien combien de personne me prennent en photos...

Deuxième partie: Je suis revenue des tulous suffisamment tôt pour pouvoir aller passer les dernières heures de jour sur
l'île de Gulangyu. Cette île était la base des colons et donc l'architecture y est....coloniale. Mais de différents styles, Anglais, Portugais, Français, Japonais. Certains bâtiments sont dans un sale état mais d'autres sont toujours resplendissants. Je suis retournée sur l'île le lendemain matin avec une fille rencontré à l'auberge. On s'est baladé dans les vieilles rues et on a visité le jardin Shuzuang. A l'intérieur il y a un musée de pianos. Ils ont un nombre impressionnant de vieux pianos, certains sont verticaux et d'autres carrés (les photos n'étaient pas autorisées). A midi on s'est régalé, on a essayé plein de petites choses qui sont sensées être du coin, principalement des produits de la mer. Après manger on a marché un peu plus mais il commençait à faire froid (pas de soleil aujourd'hui) alors on s'est posé dans un café un peu étrange. Le thé n'était pas super mais une fois ta tasse avalée tu peux la décorer! et l'emporter! Du coup on y a passé un bon bout de temps. Il y avait plein de gens qui peignaient leur tasse et que des jeunes adultes.


Comment on pictures:
- the three bins: I'm not sure wether I should put my
used tissues in the bin labelled 'harmfull waste'.... /// Je ne sais pas trop si je devrais mettre mes mouchoirs usagés dans la poubelles pour les déchets dangereux...

- sunset: I climbed on top of the Sunlight Rock (93m above sea level and highest point in Gulangyu) /// J'ai montée les marches qui mène en haut des 93m du point culminant de Gulangyu, Sunlight Rock.




Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

the three binsthe three bins
the three bins

I'm not sure wether I should put my used tissues in the bin labelled 'harmfull waste'.... /// Je ne sais pas trop si je devrais mettre mes mouchoirs usagés dans la poubelles pour les déchets dangereux...
sunsetsunset
sunset

I climbed on top of the Sunlight Rock (93m above sea level and highest point in Gulangyu) /// J'ai montée les marches qui mène en haut des 93m du point culminant de Gulangyu, Sunlight Rock.


Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb