BOO--Hallowe'en!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen
November 2nd 2011
Published: November 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Tianjiao Super Teacher and Angel.The Tianjiao Super Teacher and Angel.The Tianjiao Super Teacher and Angel.

Diane as Super teacher on the left, and me, the angel.....
On Friday, October 26th, at about 4:30 p.m. I was at our campus waiting for the others to show up before we departed to our Hallowe'en outing to a local mall. Well, it actually was not THAT local...lol...we had gone to see it the day before and it was quite a long way to get there--a good 45 mintues by van! We, and by we I mean Vivian, Diane, Joyce, Rich, another staff member whose name I don't know, and Bond, (NO, not James Bond, just Bond, LOL) our driver, made up the reconnaissance party. We checked out the venue because we were having a Hallowe'en "do" with costumes--basically a BIG party for our kids and also the public. I sang with Alan who accompanied me on the guitar. I was dressed as an angel. LOL I found a pair of fully feathered angel wings when I went to the fabric market yesterday with Joyce and that inspired me so I bought myself a chunk of plain white fabric, 3 metres for about 18 Yuan, or $3 Cdn dollars. I cut it strategically and wore it as my costume over a white skirt that I borrowed from Joyce and a white
The Great Cute PumpkinThe Great Cute PumpkinThe Great Cute Pumpkin

One of our youngest and most loved little girls in her oh-so-cute pumpkin costume.
cami that I brought and haven't worn ONCE due to the blasted HEAT here. At least it has turned out to be useful for something! I also bought myself a metre of sparkly elastic for a belt and a halo. I did my "sewing" and cutting Thursday night. A pink 'fro completed my angelic "look"! LOL I SOOOOOO love Halloween, and dressing up and wearing wild make-up and just being playful and silly. It's one of my favourite things to costume up and become somebody else...new accent, new voice, new character...it's so much fun to be somebody different--to slip on someone else's life for a while! LOL I even dusted on body glitter for that sparkly angelic magical twinkle! LOL Joyce picked up something with glitter in it, but it turned out to be glue! I tried some on my hands and it didn't feel sticky, but when I asked Happy what it was she confirmed it--glue! I am sure glad I didn't just smear glue all over my face! Ha, wouldn't that have been crazy? LMAO! Our Hallowe'en party was a smashing success! Three hours of dancing, prancing, constumed antics, singing, giving out treats and Tianjiao gave away a
Vivian WitchyPooVivian WitchyPooVivian WitchyPoo

Best Emcee EVER!
bicycle, too! The kids were just as high as they get at home! I was NOT the only angel, either. There were 2 absolutely adorable little angels who were preschoolers and also a couple of bigger older kid angels. The Chinese are angel-crazed, something I definately had no clue about before I came here, and they love to use the word Angel as an English name and name their companies using the word Angel, so for me, the Angel Therapist, this is definately another reason I love China! They love angels as much as me! LOL Diane had a great wig and dressed as super teacher, with alphabetical tights and an alphabetical cape and some crazy glasses! Rich and Allen were hockey "devils" and Jim was a skeleton! Joyce was not feeling well so she stayed home. We missed her.

AND, I am so excited--on Tuesday I went to a recording studio to make a demo for a Chinese company which records songs, and voice-overs. It should be interesting to see what happens with the demo and maybe I'll get some more work before I leave China. The man who asked me to come had heard me sing at
StageStageStage

Main stage at the mall where all the action took place. At one point, when I was on it, I almost went through it...it was quite wobbly! Yikes!
the Halloween party and approached me about doing a test. I have my fingers crossed!

While we were at the fabric market costuming up, lol, Joyce picked up the ties she'd had made by a local tailor--silk ties--and I bought raw silk, 16 metres of it, for the extremely reasonable price of just under 300 Yuan, which translates into about $50 Cdn dollars. This fabric would easily sell for closer to $50 dollars/metre at home! I hardly contained myself and bought red, blue, green, yellow and orange silks. I was in heaven! It was great--orgasmic even! Yes Jeannine, if you are reading, some of that silk is YOURS! Am I killing you with anticipation? LoL I am definately not finished buying silk and plan to go and purchase some of the lighter silk which is more expensive, about 60 Yuan/metre, still cheap by Canadian standards, only ABOUT $10/metre. I will sew myself something beautiful with it, like a gorgeous peignoir set....I cannot wait! I feel so lucky!

ANYWAY, we strolled a main shopping street in Xiamen in costume on Hallowe'en night so stay tuned for more adventures and pictures! I am having a devil of a time with
Super Teacher!  Ta -DA!Super Teacher!  Ta -DA!Super Teacher! Ta -DA!

AKA, Teacher Diane in her full regalia--belettered cape, tights and that amazing head of hair and the goggles, er, glasses! Great costume lady.
the internet tonight so I am ignoring the mistakes which I've tried to fix to no avail and am giving up and calling it a night instead. Please do me a favour and ignore them too! Thanks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Teacher JimTeacher Jim
Teacher Jim

AKA Skeleton.
Grrrr!Grrrr!
Grrrr!

Teacher Alan (sans Devil wig and mask) and a student hamming it up!
The MadnessThe Madness
The Madness

From the perimeter of the room, I stole a quick picture of the frenetic and noisy festivities. It was so much FUN!
Bike Give-AwayBike Give-Away
Bike Give-Away

One of the highlights for the kids! The winner was exceedingly delighted!
Yippee!Yippee!
Yippee!

Wow, a sand pit for the kids. This was a children's mall, and so all the stores and services were geared to kids. A pretty nice place with some really neat things in it.
Carnival MirrorsCarnival Mirrors
Carnival Mirrors

Shot of the area in front of the stage....there are some interesting mirrors for little people...they were quite fun. You know, the ones where we look EVEN worse than usual? LMAO! Is that even possible? Oh, Yes, I assure you it IS! LOL
Cool PianoCool Piano
Cool Piano

I know this is not a great shot, but I took it with my Blackberry, but the piano had a key covering made of plastic, and I thought it a funky little number. Wouldn't have minded playing it....but I would'a got myself into trouble. HA!
Hello?  Hello?Hello?  Hello?
Hello? Hello?

I thought this was amusing...enroute to the fabric market, Joyce and I passed this sign....and on it is a Thompson telephone number, the exchange is 677, one of the ones we use. Just thought it was kind of a neat coincidence/synchronicity.
MeMe
Me

Self-portrait at the fabric market.


3rd November 2011

Boo hoo
Boo hoo because I missed the festivities. Would have loved to have seen all the kids dressed up too. Of course, being stranded at the end of the night was really a bummer for you all. But I'm glad you had such fun, Carolyn, being the ''pink angel'. sort of suits you, anyway. :) Joyce
3rd November 2011

silk
Can't wait to see what you got...I see a sewing fest in our future LOL

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb