Please No More Photos!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Fujian » Xiamen » Gulangyu
August 1st 2014
Published: August 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

When you get to the ferry port on Gulang Yu just keep walking. Around the ferry terminal is sheer madness. I've never had my photo taken so much. I stood still at one point to look at the map on my phone to suddenly find a guy stood next to me while his mate took a photo.. I mean come on!!!!

Once away from the chaos Gulang Yu is a beautiful place with some quite remarkable architecture. It could almost be a film set. I just walked aimlessly around for a few hours and then sat on the waterfront waiting for the sun to set.

Gulang Yu is a small island, only a 5 minute ferry ride, just off Xiamen island. After the forceful opening of Xiamen Gulang Yu quickly became a foreign enclave and by the 1880s had it's own English newspaper, offices, churches, libraries and even had it's own Sikh police force. In 1903 the island was officially designated an International Foreign Settlement.

Really, really lovely place to visit and one can see why this is the jewel in Xiamen's crown.

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 18; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb