Tedious & Religion


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
January 8th 2006
Published: January 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Out of all the people in this world I thought I might be the last one to ever say this but I actually miss religion. If not allowing religion means work is the religion than I am definitely the first to say that I miss religion. I finally figured it out - the problem and main reason why there are no holidays or celebrations and that life becomes very tedious here in China is that work is the religion here. The government doesn't allow any more religions to really thrive in the country so work becomes their religion. They live it, breathe it, believe in, and pray to work. That's the name of the game here. If you don't absolutely adore every aspect of your working life then life will become very tedious and dull quickly. Now this is not to say that I don't enjoy working. When I'm in the class with the students they really drive me - how they feel I feel to a great extent. Sometimes they're absolutely awesome and so life is great but every now and then you get a class that doesn't want to do what they're supposed to do or is bored or is messing around. That's why I think people tell teachers they need to entertain the class - because we drive each other. If what I'm doing isn't entertaining to them then they get bored and tired and worn out just like I do. So one can pretty quickly tell when the things one is teaching are interesting or not. Sometimes it just depends on your mood when you walk through the door or how you present an individual activity. But sometimes it has nothing to do with you and has a lot to do with the kids. Although it may be a little harder to tell whether things work in teaching them or not. So basically for me I think that I really enjoy teaching but when one is teaching one's surroundings really affects one - the place they live, the people, what the people think, the culture, etc. And right now I'm not really sure if this is the place for me. Hopefully I'll know soon. One of the things I do keep wishing every now and then was that I was a better teacher - that I could go back to school and really study how to teach properly so I could be much better at it than I already am (not that I'm really bad at it now).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb