Updating


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
January 12th 2006
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well everything here is coming together. One of my private tutoring students has a lot of work and will soon leave for Japan for a couple months so I have stopped teaching her. Another of my tutoring students (who I have fast become good friends with) her name is Yang Dan (ie Jenny - She adopted my name because she really liked both of my names and needed an English name). She's got a bunch of work and other things to do so we're going to stop until I come back from Korea and then we're going to do three times a week instead of twice a week to make up for it. Finally a third little boy I tutor outside of school is leaving for Korea for a month so after this weekend I will no longer teach him until sometime mid-February. Yesterday (Wednesday) my twice a week classes had their final exam and this weekend they will have their last fun class. Then those classes will end and on Tuesday I will start teaching classes three times a week instead. So my new schedule will be as follows:

Monday: No Class

Tuesday
1-3 K5.5
3:15-5:15 Mid-writing

Wednesday: No Class

Thursday
3:15-5:15 Mid-writing

Friday
1-3 K5.5
3:15-5:15 Mid-writing

Saturday
8-9am K3
10am-12 K6
1:00-3:00 K8

Sunday
11am-12 K4
1-3 K5.5
3:15-5:15 K8

K5.5 is a class that Rockies has in between K5 and K6 but many kids leave during this time to go to other places so the class will be a fairly small class. I'm expecting about 8 students that will come from the two K5 classes I previously taught. I'm looking forward to teaching a new type of class but I will have to teach them phonics (which I have never learned myself and so it will be interesting to see how I teach it). Also the class is mainly review and has no teacher's manual so I will have to make up a LOT of stuff myself for the two hours of classtime. Helen (one of my current teacher assistants for K5) will be assisting me with K5.5. The mid-writing is exactly what it sounds like it is. It's a mid level writing class where I teach them how to write. For half of the class we work on writing skills and half of the time we work on oral speech. I'm hoping I can meet with Rachel who taught this class before and talk to her about it.

Beyond that I will also be tutoring students at school. My private tutoring classes will continue when I said earlier. This new schedule means that Camillo and I will have the same day off and may get to have a chance to go shopping or do other things together. It also breaks up my days a little bit so I no longer have three REALLY long days and practically nothing on other days. Instead I'll probably have a pretty regular day almost every day once my tutoring schedule comes in.

Beyond that socializing has become fairly routine. Been trying to spend a little bit more time going out with Craig and Cat as I had been spending a lot of time with the Salon boys. Last night Cat, Craig and I went out with Wayne, Russell, Shina, Jade and Lisa to a nice pizza place and then went over to a very nice little homely bar we went to for our company party before Christmas. We sat and played cards for a little while.

On other news on the 24th of January Michael will move in to live with me for a little while. Then sometime in February I will move out of the place I currenly live in and move with Russell into a new place. Russell and his girlfriend Shina are currently looking for a good place for us to stay. People are hoping it will be somewhere between where we live now and where Cat lives (a couple blocks away). But I'll see later.

That's about it. I'm off to the gym now. Been trying to get everything ready to go to Korea and stay with Chris. It's could be a bit of an awkward situation but I think it will be fine.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb