Celebrations & Lamentations


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
October 3rd 2009
Published: October 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well we have seen the Motherland through her 60th anniversary... but only through television. It's a tad incomprehensible how a government party "for the people" restricts access to the celebration so totally. Obviously, numbers and safety to play a roll, but it got to the point where hotels were emptied for the holiday week, some streets cleared of residents, and then those residents allowed to remain where instructed to keep back from their windows and under no circumstances were they to peer out to view the parade. As this was the first "big" celebration I've been present for, I was quite eager to witness the event. However, I found it extremely difficult to discover any/all information for the anniversary... I couldn't even find out when the parade started! After more careful sleuthing among my Chinese friends, I was told the parade would begin at 10:00am. The neighbors and I decided to throw a brunch party, and gather at their house to watch the parade. I woke up to glorious sunshine and the clearest skies Beijing has ever seen (just what the government ordered!) I was determined to bake an apple crumble and trotted down to the supermarket to see if I could gather the necessary ingredients. I managed (more or less) to find what I needed and busied myself in the kitchen, throwing flour around and making a general untidy mess of things. Luckily, crumble thrives in such environments, so I arrived at the neighbors, dusty with flour, but ready to bake my delicious treat. We were quite lucky with our location because our apartments are high enough, and close enough to Tiananmen Square that we could view the airshow out the windows, when the thousands of balloons were released to the skies, and (later in the evening) the fireworks.

I have to admit that the parade was quite an impressive spectacle. The Square was filled with people who (by changing their caps) would spell out different characters to depict what was currently happening. It reminded me of a story by Garrison Keillor I had heard as a kid called, "The Living Flag". The size and detail they put into this celebration was amazing. The military regiments were also quite amazing... I couldn't get over the fact that each regiment was the EXACT SAME SIZE. You would see these sharp rows of a copy of a copy of a copy: it was almost like viewing an army of clones. All their marching training has really paid off as they were precise and cut quite a figure. One thing that never fails to move and impress me is the real and deep passion and tie these people feel for their country. They love being Chinese; and for someone who has never really understood that deep root or tie to a place and always longed for heritage and that feeling of pride in their nationality, I have to respect and appreciate it when I witness it. No matter what.

The job situation seems to be taking a bit of a nose dive (again!) I got word that the airline has me on a stand-by list, so if someone fails the health check or declines the position, I will be considered again. Another unfortunate event (or reality) is that the voice producer with the large contract has returned to her hometown because her father is ill, so we are still unsure as to when that will proceed (if ever). Thus, once again, I am reduced to yuan-less existence. Luckily for me, this state of being is one I continue to be comfortable in and even was in enough good graces to cheerfully purchase a carton of ramen noodles. Oh yes... my little dried friends have returned. (How the mighty have fallen!)

The weather continues to be glorious here, and most Beijingers are enjoying their week holiday from work. Yesterday I met a Chinese girl who has agreed to do a language exchange with me, and then Simon and I went to explore around the Lama Temple. It's a lovely area full of beautifully preserved hutongs, which I must remember to return to with my camera. The simple and graceful beauty of these hidden homes really moves me. We entered one courtyard and were immediately struck with this calming and peaceful tranquility. I stood there for a while and tried to imagine living in such a place... returning to MOMA felt like cheating. Haha.

Last week I was lucky enough to be invited to one of my old colleague's home. She invited me and another teacher I used to work with over for dinner. It was a marvelous night. She and her boyfriend cooked us a feast of noodles, chicken wings, and potato salad... Ethan (her boyfriend) is quite proud of his Western cooking skills. One amusing thing about entering a home is that your friends transform into hosts... they can't relax or quit the role. People that you would joke around with on the street, will rush around offering you everything thing they possess and be worried sick that you aren't entertained. It really was a lovely night and our hosts finally relaxed a tad during the movie we watched after dinner. No matter how over the top it may seem, I am still consistently impressed with the heart and generosity of the people here. I learn so much from them and am glad to have such caring and lovely friends.

My goals for the holiday are to give this home a good clean (Simon has even promised to do chores!) and to cook more. Baking at the neighbors house really reminded me how much I miss ovens, but I will content myself with the tools I have and test out my new pan! This one (thankfully) doesn't grow orange. Ewww.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb