Steward of the Skies?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had a most taxing of days...

For starters, my phone has been on the fritz for some time now, my microphone must be broken as callers cannot hear me. For the time being I had contented myself with just using that blasted chunk of plastic as a text messaging device to get by. Overall it hasn't been too much of a bother, but today's circumstances pushed me right over the edge into a deplorable state of desperation and self loathing for not having dealt with finding a replacement sooner.

Some of you may know that I had been recruited to apply for a position with Hainan airlines, and the interview was scheduled for early this morning. Thinking ahead, I had requested the address be texted to me in Chinese characters to ensure a smooth arrival to my destination as I could not afford to get lost and rely on back and forth messaging. This morning dawned bright and beautiful, and I set out in quite high (though slightly tired) spirits. After all, it isn't everyday that you have a chance to become a potential stewardess! I figured it would be a good lark to try out and see what might happen. It's an international airline after all... so the travel benefits would be immense! (Sounds like something I might be into!) Anyways, I get out and joyfully discover a whole line of taxis ripe for the plucking... this joy quickly transformed to panic as cab after cab, upon purveying the address, shooed me away and insisted they didn't know that location. I begin sending frantic texts and running for the subway in the hope that if I was in the area that the drivers there would have a better idea of my destination. Upon exiting the subway I pleaded my case with strangers and had several kindly attempt to help me. Now a pattern here is the people are so polite that they will "give directions" even if they are wrong... just to be "helpful". At times this can be hilarious, but I was overwhelmed and frustrated. Along the way I kept looking for any store that might sell phones, but I did not happen upon one. I ended up just wandering around and amazingly enough my feet found the proper area. I popped into the bank to use the phone and try and get more precise directions... I was told, "Try really hard to find it ok? Good luck. I love you". (Amazingly enough this cheered me slightly). The next business I preyed upon was a Kinkos and they were kind enough to print a map for me. Ten minutes later I found the place and was dismayed to discover that through the building's windows you could SEE my apartment! All that effort for so short a distance. The waiting room full of Russians... there are an amazing number of Russians in this city. The ad posting said that there were only three slots for Russian speakers, yet the majority of interviewees were from Russia. Perhaps I will be lucky enough to snag a spot just for being North American! The interview process was a relatively easy one. We just filled out an application and sat before a panel... the only off setting thing was the entire meeting was filmed. Overall I felt pretty comfortable and just took the experience as yet another random day in Beijing. I believe that the interviews are finished this week and then we should hear back either this week or early next week. I don't really know what to think or hope for at this point. For now I am content with just taking a step back and seeing what life brings.

Glad to report that after today's trying experiences I went promptly to the Silk Market and purchased a new mobile. No more phone fiascos please! After returning home I collapsed on the couch and fell immediately asleep. Apparently the day's adventures and stress really tuckered me out.

... apparently I am still weary, and I do have to arise early tomorrow for some voice work. Good night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb