Captain Productive Strikes Again!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
September 18th 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

What I previously considered to be the near impossible has occurred! I finally have internet in my apartment... it's almost like I'm a real person now.

This week has been a settling into a new phase... I've been motivated to clean, cook and complete tasks like my internet mission impossible! It was the blasted cable after all. Now, I am not totally useless, and did try to explain my suspicion over the seemingly faulty cord to many of the various servicemen who attempted to connect us, but had been assured that there was no reason to suspect the cord. (Besides the fact that it looked broken, fraying and just generally useless). Regardless - I have finally discovered a truly gifted and helpful IT man and I would praise his name if I knew it. New cable connected and voila! Access to internet. I was obscenely proud of myself that day and its high has carried me through the rest of the week. You really learn to appreciate the smallest things here. To wake up with a goal and actually be able to carry through and complete it is such a wonder! I helped myself! Yay!

I had a pretty great interview on Saturday. This company is looking for someone to voice the children's curriculum they have created. It's a pretty big project and very well paid. They are still in the final stages of completing the curriculum so I should hear back in less than two weeks as to starting times, etc. My contact said that it's a 98% go ahead, but my experiences here being what they are... I'm not holding my breath. However, because of the possibility of employment I am not actively seeking more work. I have picked up another tutoring student (a child this time) and have been doing a little more recording for my previous producer in the meantime. We shall see what transpires. My old school is pulling their old tricks again; hiring and firing teachers at a ferocious rate. Last time I talked to my old teaching manager they were about to put everyone on an online teaching system (thus breaking the students contracts) and then a day later, my old boss phones with a teaching offer. As much as I loved my students I can't say that I was tempted to willingly enter into that horror show again. It's not a situation I can trust and the idea of having history repeat itself is more than I am willing to take on. No thanks.

Good news on the visa front is that I have my visa extended and registered with zero hassle. The company that I tutor for hooked me up with an agency and they were able to provide that service (at a discount) for me. Yesterday I went to the police station to register and it couldn't have been smoother. I'm really grateful that it went so well as I know many people here who are really struggling to obtain extensions.

I had my first cab ride with a woman driver yesterday... which got me thinking... are their woman cab drivers at home? I can't remember. All I know is that I was really struck by her being a woman, which surprised me that it made such an impression, and I then got to thinking and wondering if that would be a weird thing in Canada. It certainly is a rarity here.

Life is feeling pretty settled and comfortable. One scary thing is I am beginning to forget small things about home. One of my students asked me the other day what supermarkets I used to shop at back in Langley. My initial reaction was to say Carrefour or Jenny Lous... it took me a good 3 minutes to think back and remember brands like PriceSmart and Safeway. Freaky.

My most recent addiction are these wasabi flavored crackers. My recording producers always has a handful of snacks on hand as my stomach (no matter how much I eat before) always tends to grumble at some point during the recording, so she feeds me when necessary. It's a little embarrassing, but a great way to be exposed to various Chinese snacks.

Well... the end of the week has arrived and I have some bulk cooking and tutoring to do. Farewell!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb