Back Of The Bike, Woman!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
October 14th 2009
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I had my first bike ride in Beijing... and it was in typical Chinese wife style. I had met a friend for an early morning coffee, before he had to head out for work, and I was lamenting over my (still) bike-less existence. Looking out into the beautiful October morning really rubbed raw as perfect bike weather... it's been torture to have all this unemployed "free time" yet no real (ie: cheap) way of enjoying my hours. He gallantly offered to let me "hitch a ride" home with him and so I laughingly perched behind him on the bicycle and we set off with the rest of the work rush out into the new day. It was great fun (though slightly precarious) to balance myself behind him as we zoomed through the crowds and traffic. I received many knowing smiles from other women in similar positions and great grins from the men to see this "Western couple" fitting right in. It was a glorious and connected time.

Life, though ridiculously short on funds, has been greatly enjoyable. I keep having these moments of falling in love with China all over again, and it's always the simplest things that set me off. There are parks and courtyards scattered throughout this city that nightly are transformed into impromptu dance halls. Lights and speakers are rigged and if you follow the strains of music you will stumble upon an utterly charming scene of young and old couples entwined in a waltz or salsa while the grannies of the community watch over the excited babies and children. It's a truly magical scene. Those same spaces are transformed into an outdoor community gym by day. If you are up early enough you will see what looks like a playground at first glance, but upon further and closer examination you will discover that it's just really odd looking "gym equipment". All ages are skipping rope, playing this feather ball version of hacky-sac, badminton, monkey bars, tai chi, and flexible stretching... then their are the great individuals who have there own thing going on: one man just rotated his hips slowly for a good 10 minutes, another had his leg in a high (ballerina-esque) stretch against the waterless bridge for 20 minutes, and there was this lady who was bashing her head with her knuckles for at least 3 straight minutes (which is a long time to consecutively beat yourself!) and then did some interesting neck rotations. The thing I love most is that the people here are so entirely unaware of public scrutiny. They genuinely feel the freedom to do these (seemingly insane) things without a care for if/who one it watching. It's great! I really need to eventually purchase some running shoes and join them... perhaps I could introduce the populace to my extreme hula-hoop skills?!... I have much to offer these people. Hehe.

I had to address my budget the other day to see if I would make rent, which is due on November 1st. It's an ugly situation, as the payment norm here is three months at a time. If I empty my Canadian bank account, cash in my US "emergency monies", and restrict my spending to 20rmb/day I will just make it! When I haven't been out beating the streets for work, I have tried to spend as much time indoors to prevent spending... this was just made torturous as I didn't figure in the internet bill (which has now been cut off) so now my hours indoors are becoming increasingly torturous. I have been living off Bimbo toast, fried eggs with hot sauce & cilantro, and ramen noodles. It hasn't been pretty, but it is doable, and to know that life is possible off around $3.00/day is just insane. I used part of my budget yesterday to purchase "100 Years Of Solitude", so now I at least can read by my lake in the sun. I am very much looking forward to that joy! Hopefully all the promises I've received regarding the beginning of recordings will come to be within the next week... that would be heaven, and my diet could vary! Hurrah!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb