Undeniable Popularity


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 28th 2009
Published: April 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I still haven't adjusted to the ring of my mobile; so this morning, as I'm blissfully asleep after a long night out, I awoke to an irritating jingle and assumed immediately that one of my roommates must have left before their alarm went off. So I lay and listened, becoming increasing irritated, and grabbed my phone to check what ungodly hour it was (10:52am). Upon glancing at my mobile I realized I was responsible for the noise offense, and grumpily answered the phone. A Chinese voice on the other line replied, informing me that they had received my resume and were very interested in setting up an interview. We planned to meet at 2:00pm later this afternoon, and (still sleepy) I hung up. Immediately after I rested my head back down on the pillow, the blasted thing rang again! Another interview. Five minutes passed, and then another stream of electronic tinkling! Gah! Another interview. I now have three interviews set up for the next two days and when I opened my email I had about eight messages requesting more information. I do declare I am the most popular person imaginable! If you ever want to feel desired and necessary: come here. They all joyfully exclaimed how happy they were that I had applied for the job and seemed very eager to hire me. Hurray! My roommate, who is heading off to India today, and I had a good chuckle over the inflated egos that are sure to bloat whilst in Asia. No where else do we obtain this type of celebrity status and a return home would be a rude shock indeed. "What? No one thinks I'm special?" Haha.

I'm not quite sure what I had expected after sending out my resume yesterday. I think I sent out 10 emails, but I have received nearly 12 responses in less than 24 hours. It's really encouraging as I have really felt the need to begin this next phase of actually living and working here. I'm hosteled out.

... That being the case does not mean I cloister myself in my room, dreaming of a little space of my own. Oh no. I still barge into other people's conversations, invade their tables, and cheerfully wedge myself into some form of group. I actually have become a bit of a ringleader here, which is quite funny. Kind of a nightlife tour guide. I suppose it's only fair, as I have been at this hostel for an obscenely long time, and my favorite thing to do is to share spots that I have discovered, but it feels a little silly to be so foreign, yet be wandering (half lost at the best of times) with a crowd of eager followers close on my heels. At least they trust me. My most recent group of friends has been a congregation of Swedish and Irish boys. We all went out last night and danced ourselves silly. I introduced them to the "after dance dumpling" and they are now loyal fans.

I have made many boyfriends on this little street of mine... mostly Chinese men over the age of 60. The little stands along the hutong that I frequent nearly everyday are hosted by the most charming of individuals. These little men beam with pleasure every time they see me coming and touch my cheeks and squeeze my hands and chatter away at a rapid rate to further entertain me. Their greatest pleasure is to show me off if they happen to be surrounded by their friends. While my food cooks, I perch on the little low stools and sit with the men as they drink their Tsingtao beer and we all just look at each other and laugh. 10 RMB doesn't just get you a good meal, but rather a whole relationship.

Wish I had more time to update, but I must tidy up and head off to my interview. Wish me luck!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb