Refused Rides and a Little Pampering


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 24th 2009
Published: April 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright... so today I caved in and realized that I absolutely needed to hook up the mobile I purchased from the Silk Market a couple days ago. I have been in denial regarding this phone, as I had only recently been congratulating myself at my ability to function well without one. Alas, looking for work really does require access by phone, so I borrowed one of the girls from the hostel today and through her, was able to communicate in the local shop that I needed a SIM card (which luckily came with an 80RMB credit of "minutes" on it!). My one consolation with having this phone is that it's so cheap here. My brand new Nokia 1200 (not an impressive phone) cost about $37.00 and apparently most people don't spend more than $15.00/month on minutes. Haha... what a change from home.

The Silk Market is quite the experience as well. Floor after floor of stalls filled to the brim of any merchandise you could imagine. Fakes, fakes, fakes. It's really too bad that I've never cared for brands, and actually don't wish to own anything that has a label plastered over it, because this is the goldmine. Some are actually quite lovely, and if you ever wish to get showered with compliments, go to the market. You will get called a pretty lady until your head explodes. The Chinese have definitely cornered the in your face sell... you literally will get grabbed into stores and restrained physically as they shout to outdo the stall next to them and display all their wares. It makes for an amusing day. I really like bargaining as well, because it's just playacting. You pretend to be disinterested in their stock, they yell out an insane price, you gasp and pretend offense and name a much lower cost, they gape at you and state there is no way they can possibly sell for so low, then you sigh and walk away... only to be nearly tackled down as they insist that "for you, one day only pretty lady", and then you get your price. Regardless, you know you've paid too much, but it's such fun that no one cares. It's an excuse to go out and yell and wave your arms around and pretend fury. Good fun. There is only one rule: you can't try anything on. (Well, shoes and jackets you can). It adds another element of danger and suspense and really makes you want to get a good deal, because maybe it won't fit! I bought a really cute patchwork dress there ($5.00!) and wonders of wonders, it's too big! . Too big? Haha, now that's just crazy. I will have to get one of the girls here to recommend a good tailor so I can get it taken in.

There was a girl from Holland here who had a run of bad luck, so to distract herself from her sorrows she decided that a spa day would cure all, and me being the loving and caring type, decided to accompany her. (She was fragile and needed moral support!) We found a spa that was having a special on their services, and set out. Yesterday was pouring down rain, and really, what else were we to do? Perfect spa day. After several frustrating attempts to hail a cab, and actually being refused service twice, we chose to find our own way and take the subway. Our plan being to get to that general area, and then hail a cab to the spa. (None of us read or spoke Chinese). When we arrived in the right district, we were once again blackballed by all taxi drivers and motioned that it was in walking distance. So we trudged through the rain, feeling that now we really deserved the spa, and after asking nearly every person we encountered if we were on the right track, we finally found it! And it was goooood. I had an aromatic body massage and hydrating facial and nearly fell asleep several times. We were fed free food and tea the entire time and just pampered. It felt so nice to get the massive knots in my back worked on... they aren't gone, but man it felt great. The most hilarious part of our spa experience is that we were handed these "panties" that were made out of that material hospitals use for caps and booties. Our sheer bootie panties resembled bloomers to cover baby diapers. I burst into giggles as soon as they handed them over, and soon the whole room was convulsing in laughter at those ridiculous panties. The girls there even thought they were hilarious.

I went out for dinner by myself tonight, and ordered something off the picture menu that looked tasty. When the food arrived it looked totally different and really was just different bits of bird (I think). I tried to swallow down a few mouthfuls, but quickly lost my appetite, and had to leave. Humiliating.

I have become really addicted to dumplings and these little steamed, meat filled buns. I really start craving them late at night. Groups of us will usually end up at one of these hole in the wall establishments that are open 24 hours after a night out, and spend the wee morning hours gorging on them. The soy vinegar sauce with chili paste and flakes is just amazing!

I'm going to try and post my resume online today and see what happens. Now that I have a phone, I really need to buckle down and get settled. I also need to meet people who aren't traveling!

* Note: I still want to be kept updated on your lives! Write me. *

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb