Yan Tambour


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 23rd 2008
Published: December 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The knee update is that there was an accident at the pool and left knee now has additional cartilage damage… The MRI (cotton wool for my ears did next to nothing to counteract the noise of the scan!) interpretation recommended surgery though the Doc saw my reaction and said it wasn't absolutely necessary if I was not in a lot of pain. He said as long as I didn't climb mountains I could get by, though it would be weak… and of course degenerate with old age (he doesn’t know about my elixir)! I guess the Doc did know how to press the right buttons though! Maybe he knew how much I really do love to climb mountains?? So I’ll deliberate the surgery and possibly learn that in fact I didn’t slow down nearly enough after the last knee op. Hehe, I can see all of you laughing at this point, as life in the slow lane is something I never really learned very well!

I escaped these thoughts with a lovely evening of music at a gig in town tonight with a few friends. The guy performing at the gig was called Yan Tambour and he played a West African Harp-Lute. They plug him as being a singer, songwriter, wanderer. He is from the UK though he also speaks French. Cal chose me a 'pretty dress' and his other favourite, my purple underwear! Other than that there is not a lot of live music because someone who toured recently yelled out "Free Tibet" so they've cancelled a lot of live shows for the moment!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb