Change in the Wind


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 26th 2008
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

A massive wind blew in here yesterday and you could tell there was something strange going on. Then the sky opened and it bucketed down. It even hailed, though I'm sure it wasn't nearly cold enough, it's summer here! It was funny out walking after the rains as it took ages for the water to subside. Some people were piggybacking each other through the water! I took off my shoes as I have better balance with my feet. Most people were horrified that I was walking bare foot with my shoes in my hand! They are OK about spitting on the ground here and leaving their rubbish anywhere (someone will be along in a while to clean it up due to the abundance of street sweepers) but think it is disgusting if you don't have shoes on or sit on the ground without a piece of newspaper under you! I think I found a place to live. Though I'm no fan of the burbs, I'd much rather be living there than right in Beijing City... It's in a quiet hood and you can easily get a bus to the city.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb