Day 16 - Chairman Mao's Mausoleum, leaving Beijing, night train to Hangzhou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
August 7th 2013
Published: August 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 16 - Chairman Mao's Mausoleum, leaving Beijing, night train to Hangzhou
Today I totally missed an activity .... By choice! At 4.30 there was an option to go to Tiananmen Square to watch the raising of the flag. I decided not to go? I did see the raised flag, and took photos of it a couple of days ago (day 14)..... I think!

I decided that it was mot worth a 4.30 get up to see it actually being raised! The 7 that did go said we didn't miss anything. They said that there were thousands of people there to watch, as apparently, there are everyday. The only reason that they went was because they hadn't been to bed due to drinking all night!

At 7.45 I did join the next activity with Laura, Andrea, Sintje, Louisa and Sophia went to see Chairman Mao's mausoleum. It took an hour and fifteen minutes to get round the whole course. We did have a bit of a laugh as we went. We considered ourselves as being at war! I know it sounds a bit radical, but we had strategies to stop the Chinese battling through us! It was one of those situations that was funny, but you had to be there to appreciate it! We all agreed that they are brainwashed. He doesn't even look real. I would bet money that it is a model of him! Lots of the Chinese bought flowers on the way in and laid them at the front. There wash guy shovelling them by the armfuls round the back. He couldn't remove them quick enough before it filled up again.

We decided that they would be whipping them off to be resold! Lol Quite a few of us went to Starbucks for lunch as we have another night train tonight. I love their crushed ice lemon tea! I also got a sandwich and a fruit salad for on the train.

We returned to the hostel (Leo Hostel) for the last time to prepare to leave. Laura and I have shared a room with Josh and Rob; we seem to have got on ok together! I have bought myself a set of wheels for my back pack as it is getting so heavy with all my shopping! To be honest..... They were an epic fail!

At 3.30 we left Beijing for the night train to Hangzhou


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th August 2013

Hell from Donna
Hi lesley Glad you feeling a lot better, was worried there for a little bit. Good idea to miss the odd flag raising I would say, I know you should experience as much as you can bit there is a limit :-) all well at this end, had a brilliant class with Ella on Tuesday but I was crap, then knackered. Miss a few weeks and I can tell the difference, couldn't make Ami's either but hopefully will be ok for all next week. Cannot believe how quick the time is passing you will be spread out on a beach in Dubai, in luxury, before you know it. If I win the lottery i will meet you there. Keep safe. xxxxxxxx
8th August 2013

Lol. xx Dim.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb