Day 17 - Leave Beijing, arrive in Hangzhuo and Morganshan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
August 7th 2013
Published: August 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 17 - Hangzhou
I was very pleased that I had hot well prepared for the journey by getting a Starbucks sandwich and fruit salad for my tea on the train as I really enjoyed it!

I struggled sleeping last night due to coughing! But sadly so did the others on my cubicle! I was coughing all night until I decided to sleep sat up a bit, then I finally slept.

The night train was ok, but not a comfy as the last one. We arrived in Hangzhou at about 8.30am. We were met by our new guides Miranda and Crystal at the station. We were taken to a cafe for breakfast. I didn't have any as I just want hungry. I had taken some croissants on the train, so had already eaten.

After breakfast we loaded onto a coach for a short ride to look around Hangzhou. Luckily, we were able to leave all our luggage on the coach which made life do much easier. It is such a pretty place. The air is very clear here, but it is sooooo hot!

We did a bit of shopping, but there was nothing I really wanted to buy, but I did end up buying some peanut brittle. There is a lot of that here, and the sesame seed bars. They make it all by hand whist you watch! The local pharmacy gives out free tea, so we all had a bit of that!

We continued the walk to West Lake which is a UNESCO world heritage site. It is a really beautiful place. You could quite easily forget that you are in China. It is full of green grassy areas, park benches, communal areas, little bridges and many eating areas. Really picturesque. The walk ended at Grandma's Kitchen were we had lunch. Some strange food were ordered! Not to my liking at all but I did manage to fill up on rice and beef noodles!

We then returned to the coach to head for Moganshan which is a three hour drive. the first stop was to be the lagoon where everyone could swim, but sadly there has been no rain so it is empty! The group went to another still water area, but apparently it wasn't do nice. I couldn't be bothered to dig in my backpack for my swimming costume so just hung around. They were only gone about 20 mins!

We had a short drive to the hostel. It is really nice. A clean place with a western toilet and wifi. We had dinner here then went for a game of pool in a neighbouring hostel.

When we returned ..... My iPad has totally black screened! I am gutted. I will attempt to get it sorted in an Apple store in Shanghi. But for now it's bed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



8th August 2013
This is for you Dimitri!

Aston Martin
Wow - look at that Beast!! Cool Colour Too. Cheers Les. will it fit in ya backpack??? XX
8th August 2013

Nice
looking like a nice place that one. cheers for the car pic. Dim..xx
8th August 2013

Hi Lesley top marks for your wonderful blogs it is like reading a book with some very funny comments dropped in. The thing that strikes me most is the marvellous organization to keep these trips running so smoothly. By the way peanut brittle is my favourite when I dare give in to temptation. Keep up the good work.
9th August 2013

Golden Family Resemblance
Hi, Was Sadies birthday yesterday. Went out with J & V for a meal. Great Ni!! John was hurting with his 3 broken ribs. So he was plied with special aged Irish Whisky. Sadies son Lee has just arrived home from Afghanistan on leave for 2wks. So Madam was pleased to learn of that. Hope you get iPod fixed OK. Must be strange seeing a Golden Statue of your self!!!!!XXXXTake care B&S
9th August 2013

Cheeky bugger!
Hi Bill thanks for info from home, it's nice to hear what's going on. Say hi to J & V for me x
9th August 2013

Hi Les Do you like peanut btittle? lol. xxxx
9th August 2013

Hi Donna
Hi Donna, getting good reports from Ella about your yoga. Think I am piling the weight on! It's all the fat and sugar!! What can you do? Lol

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb