Day 15 - Temple of Heaven and Pearl Market


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Temple of Heaven
August 5th 2013
Published: August 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 15 - Temple if Heaven and Pearl Market

I woke up this morning with my ,'tiger balm covered tissue' over my face! I am very relieved, I feel a lot better today. I did the right thing missing Sintje's birthday meal in order to rest and recover! I am still snotty, but I can deal with that! All the reports were that they all had a great time.

I had breakfast with Laura before setting off for the Temple of Heaven. It is a huge park area. It is very communal with areas of singing, dancing and general get togethers. The area is a complex of religious buildings. The numbers 3 and 9 are reoccurring throughout the whole area. It is early just now, so it is not too hot....yet!

After we had gone through all of the areas we left by the west gate to go to the Pearl Market. Everyone had a spend out in there! All fake goods, but such good bargains. I bought some lovely silk Chinese scarves and a mobile booster battery pack for my iPhone / iPad / iPod , also a new mulberry handbag! ..... Very pleased ? I also bought wheels for my backpack as it is getting too heavy! ....lol

Ida looked after Sintje, Laura and me as we didn't want to go to the Olympic grounds, we decided to get something to eat and drink, then to come back to the hostel. She is only about 15 yrs, such a lovely girl!

After the shopping I need to revisit ATM ....again! There is a Peking Duck dinner tonight, but I think I will give it a miss. I have eaten the duck a couple of times, but it is never enough to actually fill you!

Only about half of the group have gone out for the duck dinner, but I really didn't fancy it. I went to Starbucks and has a toasted tuna ciabatta, fresh fruit salad and an iced lemon tea; I really enjoyed it! I sat outside and watched the world go by. I am on Big Street, just near the entrance to Tiananmen Square.... It's still all a bit surreal. I still struggle to realise that I am actually sat in Beijing writing this blog... Lol



I actually had a beer tonight....yayyyy....just the one! I sat with Zengh and had another good chat. I'm not sure, but I think she usually feels a bit better after our chats. Another early morning tomorrow so I'm off to bed now. A late night me.... 1.20!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



5th August 2013

aww bless ya sitting all on ya tod. get some beer down ya neck lass!! Dim..x
5th August 2013

Your feeling better now....Good xx
5th August 2013

Your feeling better now....Good xx
6th August 2013

Hi Sammy
Hi Sammy, thanks for your comments, I get real excited when I see I have new ones! As if I would go in the buff!!!! Lol
5th August 2013

Your feeling better now....Good xx
6th August 2013

Hi les ,keeping a eye on you now looks like you having some fun xx
7th August 2013

Drinking as well !!
Pleased your feeling better. Was out with J & V yesterday - sending Glenda Wilson ( Ex Granby Barmaid) to the Temple of Heaven. Great turn out for the funeral. Got slightly Pisshed after!!
7th August 2013

Hi
Hi Bill, really sorry to hear about Glendale. I remember her. Nice lady x

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb