Exploring a Birdsnest Other than My Hair!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Olympic Park
April 16th 2009
Published: April 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Started the day with lacing up my hightops, in an attempt to be properly respectful during the days adventures. You all know how cranky I get just wearing socks, so the idea of tromping around socked and shod for the day filled me with certain misgivings and I was hoping to make it through the day without snapping. I figured it was safer for me to explore alone today (wearing shoes and all) so I set off for Jingshan Park (which is located directly behind the Forbidden City) as I heard that if you climb to the top of the hill it affords an excellent view over the city. An interesting fact is that the hill was built out of the earth excavated from around the Forbidden City to built its moat. The day was lovely, but I wasn't holding my breath for fantastic shots, as landscape views are usually a supreme disappointment. I chose to take the lengthy walk and attempt to find my way on foot. Luckily, it wasn't all that difficult to find, and soon I was taking in the sights and clambering my way up the very steep hill. As it is man-made, I was quite surprised at the height and how steep of an incline it had. The view was actually quite amazing, and the pictures I took turned out ok. At the peak they try to convince you to purchase a picture package of you dressed in ceremonial Chinese garb... I decided to pass and attempted to find my way down the hill, without plunging to my death. (The stairs were very tricky and slippery). I continued to walk through the park until I happened upon a bench that was free. I settled down, and spent a couple happy hours, just reading in the shade, surrounded by flowers and immense trees. It felt so good to just spend a few lazy hours outdoors, and while my time away reading.

I could have spent the entire afternoon quite happily in that park but became hungry so I forced myself to continue on. It was trickier to make my way back home than to initially find the park. The Chinglish on my map didn't quite match the Chinglish on the street signs. Plus, it's an adjustment to remember that they post their signs opposite from us. However, I have become pretty good at figuring my way, so I followed my gut, and soon found my way. Not being able to rely on street signs makes you pick the most interesting of landmarks. For me, it was remembering a red telephone set on a table, outside a Chinese Welfare Lottery shop, and a shop window filled with parasols.

Upon my return to the hostel I raced up to my room to chuck off my offending footwear and check in on my roommate who has been suffering from a tough case of "Beijing Belly". I fed him with vitamins before I had left, and wanted to see how he was feeling. (This guy has been in China for 7 months and this is the FIRST time he has suffered! Crazy!) He and a friend were just about to head out to the Olympic Park and invited me to join them. I noticed they were both wearing flipflops, so I gleefully wiggled mine on and we three North Americans set off.

The Square is bigger than Tiananmen and while the structures where very modern and impressive, it was a little depressing to imagine how much money had been sunk into this park, when it was needed so desperately elsewhere. Plus, that style does nothing for me. My soul gets stirred by older structures. We had fun flying a kite with the locals and trying to avoid being sold tacky "gold medals". In the end, we gave our kite to the most persistent of hecklers. Josh was beginning to feel poorly again, so we returned to the hostel and then a little later, went further down the street to another hostel's restaurant for burgers and fries. I have to admit, it felt really nice to have a burger and beer. I have been doing really well and haven't eaten any western food since that soup and salad from the art district, so I felt I deserved a good burger. The place was really great, and they gave us a free "happy hour" beer, and we had kittens scampering around our feet. They were so cute!

I think tomorrow Josh and I are going to find an English bookstore downtown, as we are both in dire need of literature!

Zai Jian!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb