Unfortunate Event


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 16th 2009
Published: April 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gah... I am kicking myself really hard at the moment. Yesterday I had planned to meet up with Cecilia, she was going to take me to lunch and we planned for her to come to the hostel at noon and then go out from there. So in the morning, I was just lounging about the hostel killing time, and one of the British boys was heading out to see Mao as it was the last thing on his list to-do and was leaving that afternoon. He was looking for a partner to accompany him, and as I had nothing better to do at the time, I thought I may as well go. (You have to see Chairman Mao right?) We quickly walked the 7 minutes or so it took to get there and then were just floored by the queue, that really just looked like a sea of those blasted bright tourist group caps. The Mao Mausoleum closed at 12 and we had got there at about half past 10. The line looked to be moving quickly (you are only in the Mausoleum for about a total of 5 minutes) so we joined the line and contented ourselves with waiting (it was a GORGEOUS day). After about 3 minutes this little man came running up and pointing to my camera and waterbottle, signaled that I couldn't bring them inside and must store them in lockers. Hastily motioning for us to follow him, he trotted across the square and we had to jog to keep up. During this time I was wondering where the heck he was leading us to, and if this wasn't some shady operation where my camera would end up being stolen. Ha. The place he lead us looked legit enough and I had to store my belongings on their shelf for 10 RMB. Then another sprint back to the line, which by now had doubled in size, and being guilted into giving our little guide a couple RMB for his "helpfulness". Very tricky. So we wait, and wait, got several elbows from little granny types (they are ruthless in queues) and then noticed further up, what looked like people handing over tickets to pass through. Tickets? We thought this Mausoleum was free! So we are panicking because there are no ticket booths in sight, and then hear an announcement that admission is free with valid id and that a series of things are unacceptable, including sandals. Hmm... I was definitely wearing flipflops. So Craig and I are freaking out, because we both were not carrying id and I was wearing inappropriate shoes! We had waited an hour by this time, and were too stubborn to leave the line after all that. So we hunkered down for more jostling, budging, and waiting. Amazingly enough, we passed through two checkpoints without being asked for id (even though the swarms around us all offered theirs up) and no one made a fuss over my footwear. Then, just as we were about to enter the Mausoleum, my stomach sank, and I asked Craig what the time was. 12:06, and we still had to pass through, retrieve my camera, and walk back to the hostel. I was going to miss Cecilia and had no mobile to reach her with. I had no idea that we had been standing in line so long, and I felt like such a fool and just horrible to have stood her up. To make matters worse, Mao looked like a cheap sub par wax representation. A huge let down. We were both in near hysterics that we had waited so endlessly long for such a joke, and I was just mortified at having missed Cecilia, over such a ridiculous matter. We rushed back to the hostel to learn that she had come and gone, and when I called to apologize profusely, she was very gracious, but had plans for the rest of the day and was leaving the next. She promised to meet up with me on her summer holidays from school. Blast! So I sulked for an hour or so, said goodbyes to friends that were leaving, and planned to meet up with Rob in a couple days. (I will make this one happen!) Haha.

My room, which is a 4-bed dorm had been empty except for myself for the past couple days, but I now have three new roommates and one of the boys from Texas who just moved in is a teacher in another province, but just helped a mate of his get a job here in Beijing, so I shall be talking to him further. The hostel posts positions for outside of Beijing, which if I can't find anything here, I shall look into for the experience. There is one for the summer in Mongolia, which might be neat.

Anyways, that was my day yesterday (I was too sulky to write at the time) and I hope today will improve matters. It is lovely outside again. Blue skies. I think I will buy dumplings off the street and maybe look into getting my laundry done. I wear the same thing day after day, so it's in dire need of a clean. The hostel has a laundry service... I should really drop it off. Every time I open my bag I just laugh at how little clothes I packed. Way to be prepared. I should buy shoes that will do for hot weather, but aren't sandals as well, as I don't want to continue being disrespectful.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb