Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So our first week of travel is over ... tear. We arrived in Beijing without a hitch. One of my students was on our flight, so we got a ride to our hotel with her dad. We started out the adventure at Tiamenan Square. It turns out that many Chinese haven't seen giant white peeps, so Den and I turned into immediate celebrities. People were sneaking pictures of us left, right and centre and the brave ones actually came up to snap a few shots with us. It was funny and awesome at the same time. We ate some local fares... grilled scorpions on a stick, dumplings, and Tsing Toa beer, which turns out to be an offical sponsor of the NBA??? Yeah, sure. We checked out the Silk Market, Peal Market and shopping malls (more for the A/C than the stores) and then hit up the Forbidden City (Emperor's pad, but the size of downtown's plus 15), the Temple of Heaven, the Bird's Nest and Water Cube and finally out to the Great Wall. Mind blowing sights and sounds... and smells 😞 I can see why the Olympic committee was so concerned about pollution, cause some days we couldn't even see down the street. They still have driving restrictions, where you can only take your car out 6 days per week. I can alse see why Chinese drivers in Canada have such a bad wrap, cause they don't give a care about street rules, lanes, stop lights, pedestrians, speed limits... basically everything essential in a positive driving experience. I a 45 min stroll down the main road, we saw 3 accidents. 'Nuff said. Anyways, we're in Singapore, and I am not allowed to chew gum, eat on the subway or drink beer if I am a Muslim woman, as they result in fines and lashings with a cane. I'll be good, I promise. So after a worldwing trip around little India, China town and some shopping (it's the world's shopping capital, don't blame me) we head out to Bali tomorrow. My sis is flying in on the 26th, so we get to chill out for a week on the beach, enjoying tropical drinks with small fruits and umbrellas, and some of the best reefs around. I know that you're jealous. It's ok, 'cause it's awesome!
J and D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb